THE CONJURING Chronology Confusion? Here’s a Handy At-A-Glance Timeline

With the nationwide release of The Nun this weekend, The Conjuring franchise officially has more prequels than sequels! While the first Conjuring movie took place in 1971 and The Conjuring 2 was set in 1977, Annabelle, Annabelle: Creation, and The Nun take place in 1970, 1955, and 1952 respectively. The series has essential been unfolding in reverse, Memento-style.

Of course, The Conjuring 3, currently in the works, will be another sequel set in the 1970s (or perhaps early 1980s). Still, with my recent exploration of Valak’s various appearances in The Conjuring universe, I sometimes found it difficult to track the series’ chronologically. If you’ve seen or are planning to see The Nun and have any questions about where the film exists in the franchise as a whole, we’ve got you covered!

Related Article: Has THE NUN’s Valak Been Lurking Around THE CONJURING Franchise Since the Very Beginning?

The good folks at Rotten Tomatoes put together the handy-dandy, at-a-glance infographic below. Give it a look-see, and check out the synopsis and trailer for The Nun at the bottom of the article.

When a young nun at a cloistered abbey in Romania takes her own life, a priest with a haunted past and a novitiate on the threshold of her final vows are sent by the Vatican to investigate. Together, they uncover the order’s unholy secret. Risking not only their lives but their faith and their very souls, they confront a malevolent force in the form of a demonic nun.

The Nun is directed by Corin Hardy from a script penned by franchise mastermind James Wan and Gary Dauberman (IT, 2017); the film stars Demián Bichir, Taissa Farmiga, Jonas Bloquet, and Bonnie Aarons.

Does this infographic help make sense of The Conjuring’s meandering chronology? Are you excited to check out The Nun this weekend? Sound off in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, and/or Instagram!



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter