Top Twelve Finalists for The ABCs of Death 2 Announced and Now Available to Watch Online

Post Thumb:


Top Twelve Finalists for The ABCs of Death 2 Announced and Now Available to Watch OnlineTime and money and a cast prevented me from making my own ABCs of Death 2 short (called “M is for Money”), but it didn’t stop hundreds of others from submitting their take on the letter “M” to the horror anthology produced by Ant Timpson, Tim League, and Magnet Releasing.

After combing through all the submissions, twelve finalists have finally been selected.

The competition’s twelve finalists, half of which were chosen via public vote and half by jury selection, are Dante Vescio and Rodrigo Gasparini’s “M is for Mailbox”, Summer Johnson’s “M is for Make Believe”, Steve Daniels’ “M is for Marauder”, Robert Boocheck’s “M is for Masticate”, Sean Tretta’s “M is for Matchmaker”, Wolfgang Matzl’s “M is for Meat”, BC Glassberg’s “M is for Mind Meld”, Álvaro Núñez’s “M is for Miracle”, Antonio Padovan’s “M is for Misdirection”, Mia’Kate Russell’s “M is for Muff”, Santi González’s “M is for Multiverse Apathy”, and Jason Koch and Clint Kelly’s “M is for Munging.”

Top Twelve Finalists for The ABCs of Death 2 Announced and Are Available to Watch Online541 films were submitted from over 40 countries, so to be counted among the final twelve must be an honor indeed. Along with Timpson and League, the jury consisted of Associate Producer Ted Geoghegan, Magnolia Pictures’ Matt Cowal, Entertainment Weekly Senior Writer Clark Collis, Horror-Movie-A-Day founder and Badass Digest contributor Brian Collins, author Grady Hendrix, and Fangoria Magazine Managing Editor Michael Gingold.

But it’s not over yet! The twelve finalists will be voted upon by the ABCs of Death 2‘s other attached directors, which include:

Julian Barratt of The Mighty Boosh; Goya Award winner Álex de la Iglesia (THE LAST CIRCUS, WITCHING AND BITCHING); Israel’s Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (BIG BAD WOLVES, RABIES); Japan’s arthouse provocateur Sion Sono (COLD FISH, SUICIDE CLUB); Academy Award-nominated animator Bill Plympton; ROOM 237 mastermind Rodney Ascher; Filipino icon – and Director’s Fortnight inductee – Erik Matti (ON THE JOB, MAGIC TEMPLE); Lithuania’s Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper (VANISHING WAVES); SPLICE and CUBE’s Vincenzo Natali; indie horror icon Larry Fessenden (THE LAST WINTER, HABIT); THE STATION’s Marvin Kren; Todd Rohal (THE CATECHISM CATALYSM); Canada’s king of lo-fi, Steven Kostanski (MANBORG); Cuba’s Alejandro Brugués (JUAN OF THE DEAD); acclaimed UK commercial director Jim Hosking; Japanese monster-maker Hajime Ohata (HENGE); Canadian short film wizard Chris Nash (SKINFECTIONS); France’s Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (INSIDE, LIVID); E.L. Katz (director of the SXSW breakout hit CHEAP THRILLS); twin auteurs Jen and Sylvia Soska (AMERICAN MARY, DEAD HOOKER IN A TRUNK); A LONELY PLACE TO DIE’s Julian Gilbey; Brazil’s most controversial filmmaker Dennison Ramalho (NINJAS and LOVE FOR MOTHER ONLY); the founder of Nigerian “Nollywood” cinema Lancelot Imasuen; THE LEGEND OF BEAVER DAM and the upcoming STAGEFRIGHT’s Jerome Sable; and animator Robert Morgan – creator of the BAFTA Award nominated short BOBBY YEAH.

The winner will join the ranks of Lee Hardcastle, whose short film “T is for Toilet” won last year’s competition. “Being a part of the original ABCs OF DEATH was the proudest and most important moment of my life,” says Hardcastle, whose innovative stop-motion entry won the first film’s ‘Search for the 26th Director.’ “Winning the competition was a dream come true and got my video in front of all the right people. I’ve since become great friends with many of the ABCs crew and even collaborated with some of them on my own personal projects.”

Magnet will release the film in 2014. The twelve finalist films can all be viewed here. On December 15th, all twelve finalists will have their shorts screened for free at select Alamo Drathouse locations. Following the screening, Drafthouse founder and CEO Tim League will announce the winner, who will get a $5,000 cash prize and have his/her segment included in the final cut of the film.

The ABCs of Death

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Make it easy as 1-2-3 in the comments section below!

Image Type 1:

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!
Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .

Brad McHargue