Screamfest Announces Best Screenplay Winner

Source Name:

Screamfest L.A.

Source Url:

Post Thumb:


On Saturday, October 22nd, 2011, the eleventh annual Screamfest Horror Film Festival Awards were held in Hollywood, California, to celebrate the ten days of original horror programming which had preceded it, most notably the China Brothers’ Crawl (which took home awards for Best Director and Best Cinematography). Today results were released for the fest’s Screenplay Competition, and we’ve got ‘em. Read on for the winners!

Screamfest, which is spearheaded by founder and director Rachel Belofsky, has built a reputation over the last decade as having its finger on the pulse of the horror genre. Recent films programmed at Screamfest that have garnered a lot of attention include Let the Right One In, Trick ‘r Treat, Splinter, Martyrs, The Signal, and Paranormal Activity.

Best Screenplay

Blood Type:V
by Eric Maloney

Top 5 Screenplays

Blood Type:V
by Eric Maloney

Exit 49
by Lanny Grant

Someone Must Die
by Joe Henriques

The Sticks
by Dan Wedeking

Through The Night
by Edward Martin III

2011 Screenplay Top 45 Semi-Finalists

Arbor County
by Wiliam Millsap

Bad Moon Rising
by Scott Hamilton & Peter J. Hamilton

by Jami Deise

Blood Brew
by Don Swaynos

Blood Rush
by Scott Patch

Blood Type:V
by Eric Maloney

by Brendon Graham

Camp Counselors Wanted
by Michael Mulvihill

by Andrew Parkhurst & Will Wallace

Cinema 8
by Timothy X. Gordon

by Mike Korich, Peter J. Bisson & Jason Medbury

by Andrea Jastrtzab

Danse Macabre
by Daniel Murphy

Dead Last
by Kevin Lee Miller

by Jared Kelly

Doctor Frankenstein and Mister Hyde
by Jason Jenkins

Double O Zombie, Or The Spy Who Never Said Die
by Brad Lohan

Dracula Rising
by Matthew Paul Spizuco

Echoes of Mercy
by Tommy Trull

Empire of the Dead
by John Liang & Scott Rashap

Exit 49
by Lanny Grant

Extreme Combustion
by Michael Jones

by Richard Cassone

by Matthew Einolf

by Samuel Bartlett

Jug Face
by Chad Kinkle

by Dennis N. Luu

Night of the Zombie Killers
by Lanny Grant & David Ladd

Old Hag Syndrome
by Tim Dankanich

Praesidium Atoll
by Travis Opgenorth

Puzzle House
by John Michael Elfers

by Sean Lyman Frasier

Run With The Hunted
by Christopher Iovenko

by Ryan Spindell & Matt Taylor

by Sam Celia

Slasher Squad
by Stuart Campbell & Nathan Stone

Someone Must Die
by Joe Henriques

The Boy Who Cried Wolf
by Kevin P. Taft

The Clan
by A. Colin Tangeman

The Dead
by Steve Hayes

The Sticks
by Dan Wedeking

This Day Will Come
by Chris Plain

Through The Night
by Edward Martin III

Vamp Squad
by Christopher Martin

by Dan Wedeking

For more visit the official Screamfest L.A. website. Be sure to also follow Screamfest on Twitter or Facebook.

Screamfest LA

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Scream your lungs out in the comments section below.

Image Type 1:

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Sean Decker

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .