Paul Reubens to Receive the Visionary Award at the 2011 Scream Awards; More Celebrity Guests Announced

Source Name:

Scream Awards

Source Url:


Post Thumb:


Paul Reubens to Receive the Visionary Award at the 2011 Scream Awards; More Celebrity Guests AnnouncedThis Saturday evening, October 15th, the Scream Awards are taking place with the event airing on Spike TV, VH1, and VH1 Classic on October 18th. We now know who will be receiving the annual event’s “Visionary Award” along with what celebrity guests you can look forward to seeing during the broadcast.

From the Press Release:
This Saturday night, October 15th, in Los Angeles, Spike TV will honor the man responsible for one of the most iconic characters of all time, as Paul Reubens will receive the Visionary Award for his work as Pee-wee Herman over the past three decades at the SCREAM Awards 2011. The two-hour event premieres on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 18th (9:00–11:00 PM, ET/PT) and will be simulcast on VH1 and VH1 Classic. Reubens joins an illustrious list of past SCREAM Awards honorees, which includes Johnny Depp, Harrison Ford, Keith Richards, George Lucas, Tim Burton, Quentin Tarantino, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Christopher Nolan, and Robert Downey, Jr., among others.

Reubens will be honored for the multitude of ways he entertained audiences as Pee-wee Herman since his introduction of the character in 1978. From the 22-time Emmy® Award-winning “Pee-wee’s Playhouse,” to the lengths Herman went to be reunited with his bicycle in Pee-wee’s Big Adventure to the “The Pee-wee Herman Show” on Broadway, Reubens exhibited one of a kind creativity and groundbreaking originality and has had an extraordinary impact on generations of fans.

Said Reubens on his receiving the honor, “If Pee-wee were giving this quote, I think he’d scream out ‘I’m a visionary! I’m a visionary!’ and then run to the dictionary to look up what visionary means. But I know what it means, and I am profoundly grateful and honored to Spike TV for this recognition. I share this with all the amazing collaborators I’ve had over the years and my fans, without whom none of this would be possible or worth it.”

“Paul Reubens had a big vision, and in bringing Pee-wee Herman and his amazing Playhouse to life, he brilliantly brought us all along on a very big adventure,” said Michael Levitt, executive producer of Spike TV’s SCREAM Awards 2011. “Pee-wee speaks to the inner child in all of us with a grown-up wit and a timeless irreverence. At the Scream Awards we honor a wide range of visionary geniuses, and it has been a longstanding dream to have this chance to honor Paul – and Pee-wee – with the Scream Visionary Award.”

The show will also feature visionary director of Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill, and Inglorious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino; Academy and Emmy Award nominee and star of The Fighter, Mark Wahlberg; The Hangover’s Bradley Cooper; Underworld and Van Helsing star Kate Beckinsale; and Lena Headey, star of “Game of Thrones,” who joins castmate Sean Bean at SCREAM Awards 2011. These names are in addition to the already confirmed list of talent that includes two-time Academy Award nominee Robert Downey, Jr., Academy Award winner Nicolas Cage, Black Swan director Darren Aronofsky, “Lost” creator J.J. Abrams, star of Kick Ass and Let Me In Chloe Grace Moretz, Kal Penn and John Cho of Harold and Kumar fame, “True Blood” star Joe Manganiello, “American Horror Story” lead actor Dylan McDermott, “Dr. Who”’s Matt Smith, “Fringe” star Anna Torv, and “Death Valley” cast members Bryce Johnson and Caity Lotz.

Casey Patterson, Michael Levitt, and Cindy Levitt serve as executive producers for SCREAM Awards 2011. Greg Sills is supervising producer, Austin Reading is producer, and Hamish Hamilton will direct.

For more information visit the Scream Awards online!

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Cast your vote in the comments section below.
Image Type 1:

Box of Dread Black Friday
*Some International Shipping now available!

Debi Moore

I'll see you on the other side...