Twisted Metal (Soundtrack)

Cover art:


Twisted Metal SoundtrackComposed and Produced by the Pinnacle Group

Valentine’s Day is almost upon us, and there’s no better way to spend the national day of love than by competing in a chaotic, battle to the death tournament featuring cars loaded down with plenty of missiles, machines guns and other weapons that are sure to leave your opponents’ vehicles in rubble.

When Twisted Metal releases on February 14, 2012, it will also launch alongside a number of other goodies from the game, including the official Twisted Metal soundtrack. There will be 35 songs on the soundtrack: 20 original compositions and 15 licensed tracks. The game will also support custom soundtracks for those of you who aren’t fans of the game’s music.

Now, of the 20 original compositions, there are 5 themes. Each main character in the game has its own theme, and there’s an overall Twisted Metal theme, which happens to be my personal favorite. The original tracks are pretty good and mainly stem from the heavy metal genre although there are tracks of all types like Bruise Control, Ready Set Destroy and Shoot To Kill that are heavily influenced by the techno genre. Most of the original songs are instrumentals as well, as most video game themes are, so don’t expect to hear a whole lot of vocal variety here.

The officially licensed songs present a more diverse set of tracks, featuring anything from Patsy Cline’s “Crazy” to Avenged Sevenfold’s “Natural Born Killer.” There are even some classic hip hop songs featured on the soundtrack. Of course, it can’t be a Twisted Metal soundtrack unless there’s some Rob Zombie blaring through your speakers so it’s nice to see White Zombie’s “More Human than Human” on the track list as well. Essentially, any music fan should be able to find something they enjoy listening to in the game, and I know I’ll be listening to these tunes a long time before trying out the custom soundtrack features.

The Twisted Metal soundtrack contains some pretty good songs whether you’re a fan of the series or not. Most people will only be interested in the licensed songs, but the original compositions feature some nice instrumentals as well. If you or someone you know is a fan of the game series, you’ll want to pick this soundtrack up. You will be able to purchase the Twisted Metal soundtrack by visiting the official Twisted Metal website.

Track Listing

1. Twisted Metal Theme
2. Gentlemen, Start Your Weapons
3. Boom
4. Deathwish
5. The Twisted Fate of Sweet Tooth the Clown
6. Race To Destruction
7. Shotgunner
8. Carmageddon
9. Object Identified
10. Mr. Grimm’s Dark Trip Back
11. Ready Set Destroy
12. Roadkill
13. Motorpsycho
14. The Madness of Dollface
15. Ready To Die
16. Bruise Control
17. Hell On Wheels
18. Shoot To Kill
19. Calypso Industries
20. Get Twisted
21. California Queen
22. The Champ
23. Cold Metal
24. Crazy
25. Don’t Smile
26. Frenetica
27. Heavy Metal
28. I Can’t Drive 55
29. Mask
30. More Human than Human
31. Natural Born Killer
32. Raise the Flag
33. Riding on the Wind
34. Sea Shanty Medley
35. Straight Outta Compton

4 out of 5

Discuss Twisted Metal in the comments section below.



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter