Friday the 13th (2009) (DVD / Blu-ray)



Friday the 13th (2009) on DVD and Blu-ray (Click here for larger image)Reviewed by Uncle Creepy

Starring Jared Padalecki, Amanda Righetti, Derek Mears, Danielle Panabaker

Directed by Marcus Nispel

Distributed by New Line Home Entertainment


Those of you out there who are familiar with me know exactly how I feel about Platinum Dunes' remake of Friday the 13th. It infuriates me, but not because it's bad. Truth be told, it's not a horrible movie; it just never feels like a Friday the 13th flick. Take a listen to the F13 Dinner for Fiends episode for an in-depth spite-laden discussion of what went wrong.

A week or so after the film was released in theatres, Platinum Dunes producer Brad Fuller wrote this on the official Platinum Dunes Blog:

"We are finishing up on the Unrated DVD this week. That DVD will rock! We have a different cut of movie, that not only has more violence and sex, but it has an additional storyline that is totally different from the movie you will see in theaters. Its not like we just cut a few things differently, the DVD version will feel like a different movie."

Fans everywhere, myself included, were intrigued. When the product came in for review, I went immediately to my home theatre system to drink it in. Could it be? Would this new "Killer Cut" fix at least some of the problems that existed in its theatrical cousin, and more importantly, would the difference in the cut really be that drastic?

Allow me to be the first to call bullshit. It's mostly hyperbole. Let me dissect --

Friday the 13th (2009) on DVD and Blu-ray (Click here for larger image)"We are finishing up on the Unrated DVD this week ..."

The "Killer Cut", which clocks in at 106 minutes (the theatrical cut was 97 minutes), is still rated R. Curious.

"We have a different cut of movie, that not only has more violence and sex, but it has an additional storyline that is totally different from the movie you will see in theaters. Its not like we just cut a few things differently, the DVD version will feel like a different movie."

First the good. In terms of sex, yes, there's more to be found here. Fans who drooled over the chicks in theatres will be happy to know that even more "perfect nipple placement" makes it in, as well as some additional blood spillage and longer looks at some of the film's kills. It should be mentioned that said kills are still pretty uninspired, but at least they're a bit, and let me stress the word "bit", gorier.

Now the bad. The additional storyline. If you don't want any spoilers, skip this paragraph. We get one scene broken up into two parts: At one point when Jason comes home to his lair, he has another flashback of his mom being beheaded and proceeds to throw a hissy-fit by throwing stuff around. Once he storms away, his captive (since when does Jason take hostages?) Whitney (Amanda Righetti) escapes by picking her lock. From there is a cool little moment as she falls into the room in which Jason stockpiles his corpses and immediately flees for her life, only to have Jason grab her at the point of freedom to chain her back up. That's it. How in the world this scene can constitute a bold statement like, "the DVD version will feel like a different movie" is beyond me.

Friday the 13th (2009) on DVD and Blu-ray (Click here for larger image)In fact, these changes aren't even close to drastic. I'm sorry, Mr. Fuller, but you did "just cut a few things differently". Nothing more. Still, I'll give them this ... this cut, if only for the few more seconds of sex and violence, plays better and is a bit more of a fulfilling experience than what we got in theatres.

Yet, in the end, these additions do nothing more than put a band-aid on a gushing wound. The film still has its problems. Instead of faux grit, Nispel gives us blue lens flares by the dozen. The music is miscued. The "captive" storyline is senseless and completely out of character. The kills are too basic ... I can go on forever.

Here's all that had to happen: Kids show up. Kids die. Roll credits. That's it. It's really that simple, and how this formula got screwed up is a complete and utter mystery. The Friday the 13th remake is over-produced, over-shot, over-thought, and not over soon enough. But its biggest sin? It's just not fun, and that's something that every Friday film, for all of their missteps and misfires, homo-erotic shaving bits and imposters, were.

The only really good thing I can say about it is that Derek Mears was amazing as Jason. He was the only one who seemed genuinely concerned with making a good Friday the 13th movie. It's a shame he didn't get more to work with. I pray that in the future he'll return to the role with a director at the helm who actually understands the series. We shall see.

Friday the 13th (2009) on DVD and Blu-ray (Click here for larger image)Now let's talk supplemental features, shall we? DVD owners? You're out of luck. All the really good stuff is on the Blu-ray, which I'll get to in a second. Standard def fans will have two short things to sift through, an eleven-minute examination of what it took to ready the masked one for a new audience entitled The Rebirth of Jason Voorhees, and a few deleted scenes that include the original way Jason got his hockey mask, which was way better than what we got in the theatrical version, and the original way Jason was dispatched, which was pretty pitiful. That's it.

The Blu-ray has those bits, both in HD, and more. First the extraneous stuff. Included with the Blu are both the "Killer" and theatrical cuts of the film, a standard def digital copy, and Warners' version of BD-Live, which allows you access to exclusive downloads, etc. Good stuff. From there we get a pop-up Terror Trivia track, which allows viewers to test their knowledge of the franchise as well as dig on some behind-the-scenes footage, all while the movie is playing. Nice. Next up we get the Hacking Back/Slashing Forward featurette, which explores how the cast and crew of this latest entry feel about the Friday franchise in general. This was actually pretty cool because it conjures lots of nostalgia. "Where were you the first time you saw ..." type stuff. Lord knows we all have those stories. And finally, we get The Seven Best Kills featurette. Not of the franchise, mind you -- just the Platinum Dunes remake. Really what this is, is just an account of how some of the film's key F/X sequences were pulled off, but it's presented in probably one of the most masturbatory "Look what a great job that we did" ways imaginable. I'm still kind of taken aback. Whatever.

It should also be mentioned that the Blu-ray looks and sounds amazingly better than its DVD cousin. One thing is for sure, in 1080p, the film looks absolutely jaw-dropping. Rarely do I find myself saying wow, but in this case? WOW!

And there you have it, folks. The bottom line -- Friday the 13th 2009 is at its heart a mediocre slasher film that just happens to have Jason in it. If you're cool with that, you'll probably love this, but for us faithful extreme Jason fanatics? Our best days with Big J are either behind us or have yet to come. A Part 2 is inevitable, and I, like many, am still keeping my fingers crossed. Please, Platinum Dunes, give us what we want -- imaginative kills, gore-a-plenty, and bring back Mears!

Special Features

  • Bonus digital copy (Blu-ray only)
  • Warner Bros. BD Live Enabled (Blu-ray only)
  • Terror Trivia Track (Blu-ray only)
  • Two cuts of the film (Blu-ray only)
  • Hacking Back/Slashing Forward featurette (Blu-ray only)
  • The Seven Best Kills featurette (Blu-ray only)
  • The Rebirth of Jason Voorhees featurette
  • Additional Slashed Scenes

    Film:

    2 1/2 out of 5

    Special Features:

    3 1/2 out of 5

    Discuss Friday the 13th (2009) in our Dread Central forums!




  • -->



    NeoKefka's picture

    I just saw this and I gotta agree with the haters. This movie was a waste of time. They had a chance to really make a kickass Friday the 13th and instead they just made the most generic and unimaginative sequel (Yes, it's a freakin' sequel.) they could come up with. Then they threw in a bunch of stuff that came off as more mean-spirited and sleazy than fun.

    Seriously, a woman screaming as she's slowly roasted to death? Not. Fun. Stabbing a woman in the head and then pulling her out of the water just enough to give us a gratutious tit shot? I don't enjoy seeing that. I enjoy seeing a naked woman who is smiling and happy and enjoying herself and being all "WOO, I'M NAKED!" Not one that just had a machete jammed through her skull cap.

    And god damn, that fucking redneck. What, is it because The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was successful that Platinum Dunes thinks they've got to work in a disgusting, perverted redneck into as many of their movies as possible? Were we supposed to find him funny? He was fucking vile. (The way he acted and talked, if he was in the audience for this movie, during the sex scenes you'd be hearing him making all kinds of moans and funny noises before the ushers drag his ass out.) And that simple throat slashing he got did not make up for having to watch him lick porno mags and fondle a dummy.

    AND WHAT THE FUCK WAS WITH THAT BUS BEING IN THE MIDDLE OF WOODS FOR NO REASON?

    I'll admit that Derek Mears was a good Jason. Shame he was in a movie that was just more lifeless, rehashed shit.


    Submitted by NeoKefka on Tue, 08/11/2009 - 2:42pm.
    doubleh55's picture

    Would this surprise anybody if I told you that I enjoyed the film and think the negative comments are just negative for the sake of negative?

    Also, that sleeping bag kill was not a bad kill. You wanted creative kills and he does something creative and you complain about it. It's also different enough from the originals that I really appreciated it. It also has some nice moments. A B- slasher film and definitely better than Laid to Rest.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Thu, 06/18/2009 - 9:03am.

    I saw it in theaters and I just watched the killer cut last night. I saw no differences what so ever.


    Submitted by Kane86 (not verified) on Wed, 06/17/2009 - 3:08pm.
    Floydian Trip's picture

    Wow, alot of fucking comments that I don't have the time nor the inclination to read. All I have to say, and this has been bugging me for a long time, is that why do Dread Central staff talk down to its readers about remakes all the time. "calm down it's another remake" and such when they are almost universally ripped to shreds come review time. WHo the fuck likes remakes? Who the fuck can even tolerate them anymore? Why should we calm down about remakes when the only thing it proves is that Hollywood is creatively bankrupt. I don't get it. I don't think any of the readers of this site are morons. Well at least most are not.


    Submitted by Floydian Trip on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 7:51pm.
    moderator When we say things like that
    Steve Barton's picture

    When we say things like that it's only out of sarcasm brought on by the very frustration you feel. We don't talk down to any of you. Wouldn't dream of it.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Sun, 06/14/2009 - 5:46am.
    doubleh55's picture

    Creepy, I just got my copy of the remake so I'm looking forward to watching it.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Wed, 06/17/2009 - 11:15am.
    DeTuinman's picture

    Wel.....

    I enjoyed the remake, with all it's flaw's.
    It has one of the best Jason's and is a lott better than the Halloween remake.

    What I don't get is that most of the people who "hate" the F13 remake like Zombie's remake, which features a Michael Meyers who is nothing like the Michael from the original series.

    Most slasher remake's are not up to par with the originals because of money grabbing and crap, hypster, so called "fan" directors....period.

    Bloody Valentine was the best of the bunch.
    It was fun, bloody and not too serious about it.
    As a diehard slasher fan I'm just happy big J is back on the screen.

    The mind is like a parachute...it only works when it is open.
    F.Zappa


    Submitted by DeTuinman on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 5:09pm.
    rupp30's picture

    I actually don't know anyone who thinks that Zombie's Halloween was even remotely a good film. With that being said, I agree that the new Friday was superior to the new Halloween but they both try to heavily to become an entirely different film than what they are so saying Friday is better really isn't saying much.

    MBV was the best, I agree, and I also agree it was great to see Jason on the big screen again (Mears played Jason extremely well) but the film just wasn't anything even close to a "fan" directors film. I'm not even sure that Nispel saw the original Friday's. His direction is what killed the movie the most in my opinion. I'm not going to say the script did like most people have been saying since none of the Friday films are known for good scripts. But most of them carried fun and this one most certaintly did not.

    _SedanHollows_


    Submitted by rupp30 on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 5:29pm.
    DeTuinman's picture

    Well....

    Lot of people I know like the Halloween remake, why...?

    It has to do with Zombie's in built crowd, a lott of folks like his gritty, I'm a hillbilly look...
    Most of these fans are not older than say 20ish and have not seen a horror film further back than the 80's.

    The real problem are these new, hip, genre fan directors, they have no idea how to build tension, show gore or work around a dumb script...

    Zombie, Roth, Nispel, all the other fuckers of PD, Aja and even Tarentino (Deathproof was his slasher/grindhouse tribute) make flicks with no tension at all, they may have hit the mark once or twice but in general it's all talk and no walk.

    Enough with the remakes, give me flicks like Trick or Treat, Splinter or Rec...those are the kind of flicks that make our genre great.

    The mind is like a parachute...it only works when it is open.
    F.Zappa


    Submitted by DeTuinman on Sun, 06/14/2009 - 2:22am.
    Sirand's picture

    I can't believe this argument is still raging. Look, I've worked and/or interacted with most of the people involved in this franchise. I also didn't grow up with these movies like most fans, which rules out the "nostalgia" argument. What it really boils down to with the F13 movies (for me) is trashy fun, creative kills, cheesy logic and classic bad-movie "WTF" moments. I got that with every film in the original series. I didn't get that here. There was a low-budget ingenuity to the earlier films, and for all their absurdity, directors like Zito and McLoughlin were SMART "in-the-trenches" filmmakers who put genuine thought and passion into what they were crafting. The same can't be said for the Platinum Dunes team (Bay wanted this set in a freagin' NYC hotel, for fuck's sake). I think that comes across on screen. The energy you got out of everything from Savini's FX to Crispin Glover's performance to McLoughlin's old-school Universal motifs make all the difference when compared to Nispel's TCM repetition and lense flares. The only real passion I felt on screen was from Derek Mears.

    Is the Friday remake technically a better film than Jason Takes Manhattan? No question, of course. But 20 years later, I'm still joking about the cheese of Part 8 (who can forget that boxing scene?) while I couldn't remember a damn thing 5 minutes after walking out of the remake. That's what constitutes entertainment with these movies...and PD failed to deliver, even on a bad movie level.

    Here's hoping they grasp the tone better when they make the sequel. In the meantime, I'll just rewatch Hatchet and Wrong Turn 2 for my slasher kicks.


    Submitted by Sirand on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 2:46pm.
    rupp30's picture

    Right after leaving the theatre from watching the new "Friday", I immediately popped in Hatchet and Wrong Turn 2.

    It's not that Friday was a bad movie guys. It just wasn't fun and entertaining and like Sirand says, these movies are about the fun and entertainment and Platinum Dunes, and more specifically Marcus Nispel, did not deliever the good in terms of that.

    Now, on the other hand, films like Hatchet and Wrong Turn 2 for example, brought fun to the table and were very entertaining. I will never forget the lady in Hatchet who gets her head practically ripped off or the gas powered sander scene. Those were fun and entertaining. Were at all did Friday have a scene that made it stick out in your mind that it was something worth remembering because after watching it a second time (sadly) I still can't find even one. If Nispel and company could have kept the enthusiam that the first twenty minutes carried this could have been a decent film, a way better film than it was but I never got what I wanted from it and that's why I do not like the new Friday the 13th.

    _SedanHollows_


    Submitted by rupp30 on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 3:16pm.
    doubleh55's picture

    I haven't seen F13 remake yet but I highly doubt it's that much worse than Hatchet. Holy fuck balls that movie is ridiculously overrated. I wish more people would talk about Spiral more.

    Wrong Turn 2? That movie is the shiznit and I completely believe it's better than the F13 remake.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 11:48pm.
    rupp30's picture

    I really don't get why people don't like Hatchet. Everyone I know enjoyed the hell out of it yet everyone hates on it. It was a fun 75 minutes of pure slasher goodness. That's something that this new friday most definately does not have going for it.

    _SedanHollows_


    Submitted by rupp30 on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 10:17am.
    Terminal's picture

    If you don't get it now, you won't get it when it's explained to you. "Hatchet" is overrated, overblown swill and Green is never going to change the way we think about slasher movies, that's for sure. I'd be harder on the guy but "Spiral" was really good.


    Submitted by Terminal on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 1:08pm.
    doubleh55's picture

    Here are some reasons:

    1. Not that funny.
    2. The camera work completely takes me out of the one kill that should have been great.
    3. The lack of established rules so you spend half of it saying "What the..."
    4. The general lack of good acting.
    5. The general bad marketing treating it like a savior (I know not Green's fault)
    6. The horrible ending
    7. No characters to root for

    It definitely has some things going for it so it's not like it's a total waste but it's certainly not a good movie. Adam Green is going to do a WHOLE lot better for himself.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 10:59am.
    PelusaMG's picture

    I agree that the ending was lame, but I enjoyed the film and thought it was a 'fun' time. Didn't expect to see anything that would change my world, nor did I expect it to be the greatest film ever made, but it more than lived up to the hype of being something more than average horror/slasher fare.


    Submitted by PelusaMG on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 11:15am.
    moderator Green never wanted to change
    Steve Barton's picture

    Green never wanted to change anything with Hatchet. Just make a movie that revered the slasher movies we all know and love. He did that in spades.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 5:02pm.
    Terminal's picture

    The hell he did. It was a horror comedy that was neither horrifying nor funny. It's not the worst movie ever made, but it's definitely not a masterpiece either.


    Submitted by Terminal on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 5:13pm.
    rupp30's picture

    but it wasn't made to change the slasher genre nor to be a masterpiece. it was made to be pure gory slasher fun and that is where it delivered. green's film was way better than the new friday. thats my opinion. i don't care if you like it or not because my opinion isn't going to change.

    _SedanHollows_


    Submitted by rupp30 on Sat, 06/13/2009 - 5:24pm.
    doubleh55's picture

    I don't want your opinion to change.

    Even as an "homage" to slasher films it's pretty lame. Other than their blatant attempt at ripping off the villain from Madman, what other slasher films of the 80s had an unstoppable killer like the one shown in Hatchet? Always looking for new slashers to watch.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Sun, 06/14/2009 - 9:36pm.
    Messiahman's picture

    Of course, now you've left the door open for the HATCHET haters to reappear. ;-)


    Submitted by Messiahman on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 2:49pm.
    doubleh55's picture

    HAHA I totally didn't see this before I posted a Hatchet hate remark. Oh that silly overrated pile of shit :) I always feel like I need to end by saying that I thought Spiral was awesome.


    Submitted by doubleh55 on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 11:50pm.
    Sirand's picture

    Yea, now it's our turn to get blasted for "overpraising" movies we like.

    Bring it!


    Submitted by Sirand on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 2:52pm.
    NYC-Hearts's picture

    I never have understood the hate towards the film; it fits pretty well in the cannon of brain-dead, opportunistic, commerical films of the original series. With a few lines of dialogue dropped here or there, it easily could have been a straight sequel.

    Yet, it's fun; it's dumb; it's better than some of the original series sequels. I cannot help but think some people have a less than objective memory of the old series--nostalgia is not a good thing, my friends....


    Submitted by NYC-Hearts on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 3:53am.
    Matt Serafini's picture

    The hate comes from the fact that it's a whopping bore.

    The kills were concocted with zero imagination or flare, and they managed to have less gore than some of the earier victims of the MPAA. Wow, thanks Fuller.

    There's been a lot of talk about people "blinded my nostalgia" ... that's just not the case. I grew up with My Bloody Valentine, same as F13, and I had a blast with the remake. The filmmakers of that movie understood what worked about the original while expanding on its story.

    There's other recent slasher flicks, Cold Prey, for example, that feel MORE like a F13 flick than the remake did.

    The hate comes from the fact that you can slap the F13 brand on this thing but, call it what you will, this isn't Friday the 13th.


    Submitted by Matt Serafini on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 8:35am.
    Messiahman's picture

    "I cannot help but think some people have a less than objective memory of the old series--nostalgia is not a good thing, my friends...."

    Truer words have never been spoken, my friend.


    Submitted by Messiahman on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 8:24am.
    The Buz's picture

    You deserve an internet cookie.


    Submitted by The Buz on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 7:27am.
    moderator Oh, I'm plenty objective. I
    Steve Barton's picture

    Oh, I'm plenty objective. I just know insipid crap when I see it too. Even if you erase every F13 film from memory this is still a very mediocre film. I guess "fun" is in the eye of the beholder because I can name at least 5 other slasher films within the last five years that totally got the formula right. MBV3D is a big time for instance.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 4:07am.
    Messiahman's picture

    "I just know insipid crap when I see it too."

    This from the man who liked the festering piece of dogshit known as WOLVERINE.

    This from the man who ranked CLOVERFIELD far above LET THE RIGHT ONE IN.

    This from the man who once defended BOOGEYMAN and WHITE NOISE.

    Spare me the rhetoric - you embrace "insipid crap" at every available chance and dry hump it within an inch of its life. You're not a critic; you're a fanboy. And you don't even know the difference between the two.

    Sorry, but I'm laughing so hard I don't know if I can type anymore. :-D


    Submitted by Messiahman on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 9:06am.
    moderator Please, I gave booth
    Steve Barton's picture

    Please, I gave booth Boogeyman and White Noise a 2 1/2 out of 5 so there goes that argument. As for Cloverfield over let the Right One In, I actually rated LTRoI higher than I did Clovie so there goes all the air sucked out of that nonsensical argument. You should check your facts before you dribble out your diatribes. On my year end list I gave the nod to Clovie, why? Because it was MY PERSONAL LIST and I like giant monster flicks much more than vamp flicks.

    I suppose you've NEVER liked ANYTHING that went against popular opinion (oh wait, you like the F13 remake) to further cement your oh so coveted position of Film Snob Supreme who had to "quit the internet" like a lil boy who had to go home with his ball before someone scuffed it.

    You claim to be this "great debater" but as proved above you don't possess the verbal skills to discuss a film without resorting to being condescending and hurling insults. "I'm not getting through to Creepy with my incessant babble so let me attack his position as a reviewer!" Give me a break, dude. Not only is that kind of stuff laughable, it crosses the line, and it's needless.

    Here's my thing ... I'm looking to be entertained. Plain and simple. I'm not looking for anyone to reinvent the wheel, and I really don't expect such. If a movie isn't that great, but at the very least entertains me, I'll make sure I mention that in my review or when I talk to people about it. For that you should be thankful Mr. Shark Swarm. Now can we just embrace on a beach while ludicrously sappy music plays until the end credits roll on this discussion?


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Fri, 06/12/2009 - 1:43pm.

    Comment viewing options

    Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.