ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 (2011)



ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2Starring Brian Austin Green, Owain Yeoman, Thomas Dekker, Danielle Harris, Nick Principe

Directed by Robert Hall


When last we saw the killing machine known as ChromeSkull, he was lying in a crumpled heap with his face melting off while Tommy (Dekker) and "The Girl" escaped the carnage he had left behind. We know what you're thinking ... "How could Chromey possibly survive getting his face melted off?" Dude ... how did Jason survive ... well ... everything? You just can't count a good slasher out, and by hook or by crook you know that he will always be back.

ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 begins the very second that the original film ends. After one hell of a blood-stained opening, we fast forward three months to find Tommy still suffering from the scars that fateful night at the convenience store etched into his psyche. The ChromeSkull murder case is still wide open for the police department, headed up by Detective King (Yeoman), and before our heroes have a chance to even catch their breath, more people start disappearing ... including Tommy. From there it's a race against time for the law to get to the bottom of all the ghoulish things that have once again begun to transpire. To tell you any more about the flick's plot is to reveal some major spoilers, and that's the last thing we want to do.

ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 is about as different from the previous film as possible in that it's nowhere near as intimately set. This is mayhem on a much grander scale on a far bigger stage. And we learn who the menacing figure in the chrome mask really is. What his motivations are and how they affect the people around him. Yes, there's much knowledge to be gained here, but never once is there a lull in the action. Bodies pile up in a fast and furious manner with each kill outdoing the last.

Speaking of which ...

It's impossible to review this flick without talking about the kills that are waiting for all of you gore-hounds out there. Let me be clear, and I do not say this lightly ... Laid to Rest 2 could quite possibly be the most gut-wrenchingly violent slasher film of all time. Director Rob Hall and his special makeup effects team headed up by supervisor Erik Porn seemingly go out of their way to show you every single snapping tendon, sputtering bit of grue, and unfathomably deep gash in startling detail. All practical. All in your face. If you're a splatter fan, this is like finding your own personal nirvana. Every time you think that one kill cannot be topped, another one comes along to blow your fucking mind. Simply put, you'll be seeing some of the ... Best. Kills. Ever.

And there's a lot more meat on these bones than just top-notch effects work. The performances here go way above and beyond the call of the average horror movie. While ChromeSkull is still the star of the show, Laid to Rest 2 is very much Brian Austin Green's movie. You won't be able to take your eyes off him. The word "intense" is a bit of an understatement. As for Nick Principe as the killer ... If you thought he was savage in the first flick, brothers and sisters, you haven't seen shit! ChromeSkull is the personification of evil around these parts, and Principe's performance easily ranks up there with some of the biggest horror heavyweights around.

Before you know it, you'll be at the end credits as the runtime feels more like seconds instead of minutes, wishing that you could rewind and see some of those marvelous murders one more time. Maybe even several more times. ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 is an uncompromising, unflinching, and thoroughly insane little film which will have you gasping and cheering every kill until the very last frame. It's exactly what we watch slasher flicks for. Bring a mop.

4 1/2 out of 5

Discuss ChromeSkull: Laid to Rest 2 in the comments section below!




-->



aliensharkboy's picture

I loved this movie to bits! Goes up there with the best slasher movies of the last decade for me :D I never expected to like the first film and was shocked by how much fun it turned out to be, a sequel didn't sound great at first but once I saw it I liked it almost as much as the first!

Here's hoping for another sequel! Danielle Harris said there are plans and she may even become one of the main killers if there's a third Chromeskull O.o If so, I'm curious to how that'll turn out.


Submitted by aliensharkboy on Sun, 09/30/2012 - 5:00am.
MonsterMash's picture

Bring on Laid to Rest 3! Though I did love the ending for 2. It's a perfect ending.


Submitted by MonsterMash on Sun, 09/30/2012 - 10:47pm.
James Coker's picture

ChromeSkull was one of the biggest "disappointing" horror movies of 2011 for me, along with Don't Be Afraid of the Dark and StakeLand

my Fellow horror fans should of saw "SweatShop" instead, come out on DVD the same month as ChromeSkull


Submitted by James Coker on Sun, 01/08/2012 - 11:02pm.
kiddcapone's picture

I wouldn't be surprised if this was actually Fangoria Presents: Chromeskull - the 1st horror porn.

The sets. The dialogue. The characters. All porn movie quality. They had a police detective investigating the "lair" wearing a flimsy blouse and gun hanging on her hip. The guy walked into a police station where everyone is still allowed to smoke inside and dragged off the kid at the vending machine and none of it was even caught on tape or seen.

Steve, I just don't know. You harped on the Fright Night remake because they didn't put police tape around a destroyed house but all the gazillion scenes of ridiculousness in Chromeskull gets a pass and 4.5/5 rating. Dude, I'm truly stumped...


Submitted by kiddcapone on Sun, 01/08/2012 - 11:00pm.
nonserviam03's picture

I don't know what you were smoking when you gave this 4.5 knives. Wow this movie sucks hard.


Submitted by nonserviam03 on Tue, 09/20/2011 - 6:36pm.
moderator It's funny everyone I meet
Steve Barton's picture

It's funny everyone I meet and talk about this flick to either loves it or hates it. There's just no in between! LOL


Submitted by Steve Barton on Tue, 09/20/2011 - 6:49pm.
MonsterMash's picture

I'm an in-between. I didn't like where they took the story, but the rest was mediocre. And no, Chromeskull didn't just survive just because he can. He's not supernatural, and yes, he should have died, but this is just a movie, so I can suspend the disbelief at the beginning. It's not like he was decapitated or anything. Vital organs are all intact. Unlikely survival, but not impossible. Especially when he gets bandaged up. However, you forgot to remember the anti-climactic third act. I wanted a big Hatchet 2 level end fight between Chromeskull and the wannabe. But I liked the rest. I'm on the fence.


Submitted by MonsterMash on Wed, 12/28/2011 - 11:32pm.
nonserviam03's picture

I even actually liked the first one. The script was just so all over the place and I really hated that whole thing about the "organization" that they never explained. The acting was better, but it just felt like such a mess.


Submitted by nonserviam03 on Tue, 09/20/2011 - 7:34pm.
Debi Moore's picture

For me it was all about Brian Austin Green. He just killed it.


Submitted by Debi Moore on Tue, 09/20/2011 - 7:42pm.
nonserviam03's picture

He was good, but it wasn't enough for me. I wanted them to explain who Chromeskull was and instead I left with more questions. I don't buy into the idea that this organization exists solely to fulfill one crazy guy's murder fantasies. Who are these people who work for him? How did he find a squad of people that will go along with this? How did they get away with this for as long as we're led to believe they did?


Submitted by nonserviam03 on Wed, 09/21/2011 - 8:05pm.
doubleh55's picture

I just finished up watching this. It stinks. The gore is awesome but they should have just made a 30 min movie with nothing but gory kills because the rest of the movie makes no goddamn sense what so ever. Creepy says you learn more about Chromeskull but actually you learn even less to the point where it makes no sense so I kept wondering why I was watching. Not recommended. Mr. Hall should stick to what he does best and help out his eye for gore to those who are better at writing and directing.


Submitted by doubleh55 on Tue, 08/23/2011 - 10:44pm.
moderator What didn't you understand?
Steve Barton's picture

What didn't you understand? We found out what ChromeSkull's motivations were and the company he keeps. Everything took on a very Hostel kind of vibe.


Submitted by Steve Barton on Tue, 09/20/2011 - 6:51pm.
MonsterMash's picture

Please explain to me Chromeskull's motivations. I didn't learn anything about him from 2 films other than that he might be a surgeon, he records his killings, and he runs some sort of murder organization. I found nothing that would motivate him. He is a pervert who likes girls. I am to a degree too. That doesn't mean I go around killing people. Please explain to me your view of his motivs.


Submitted by MonsterMash on Wed, 12/28/2011 - 11:36pm.
moderator He's a rich psycho who gets
Steve Barton's picture

He's a rich psycho who gets off on torturing and killing people. He uses his cash to fund his addiction to murder.


Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 12/29/2011 - 12:23am.
MonsterMash's picture

I buy it, but that's a tough sell.... I look forward to the new one and learning more about the organization.... Whats your opinion on the anti-climatic third-act decapitation? It was badass, but the entire second act built up to a big fight, and only a mediocre decapitation.


Submitted by MonsterMash on Thu, 12/29/2011 - 12:37am.
nonserviam03's picture

Idk... face melted off still seems a lot more final than pretty much anything that happened to Jason before he turned into a zombie.


Submitted by nonserviam03 on Mon, 07/18/2011 - 1:49am.
Rottenjesus's picture

"Tonight you're going to get laid..."

"EXCELLENT!"

"...TO REST!"

"Bogus!"


Submitted by Rottenjesus on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 10:04pm.
kiddcapone's picture

Okay, I'm sold. We're usually on the same page Steve, so I'll bump this up from No Fucking Way to High Priority. I wasn't impressed at all with the first film, but how can I not want to see it after this review? It's just hard to get past the stupid Halloween store at the mall mask and stupid name. Chromeskull...so fucking stupid. I guess Jason movies should now be called Hockeymask and Freddy movies be called Burnface. Just plain ole lame...


Submitted by kiddcapone on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 6:58am.
MagusMaleficus's picture

Same here. I watched the first one last week on Netflix and thought it...well, it didn't suck, but it didn't exactly thrill me either. There were a couple of crazy kills but the rest of the flick was boring. But I'm all for the sequel if it's really worthy of 4 1/2 bloody knives.


Submitted by MagusMaleficus on Fri, 07/15/2011 - 5:51pm.
Emilie Noetzel's picture

I love most of the cast and like the rest, so I'll def give it a watch.


Submitted by Emilie Noetzel on Wed, 07/13/2011 - 11:44pm.
Terminal's picture

Lots of bold statements in this review for a sequel to a movie that wasn't good to begin with. I'll keep an open mind.


Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 07/13/2011 - 11:23pm.
moderator Dude ... it will speak for
Steve Barton's picture

Dude ... it will speak for itself. Even I'm shocked how much I liked it.


Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 1:04am.
Terminal's picture

Cool. I'll keep an open mind no doubt. Did you like the first one?


Submitted by Terminal on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 2:35am.
moderator Look at it this way ... the
Steve Barton's picture

Look at it this way ... the kills are so frequent and so insane you'll never be bored even if you don't dig the story!


Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 07/14/2011 - 3:16am.
Terminal's picture

Cool. I'll keep that in mind.


Submitted by Terminal on Fri, 07/15/2011 - 1:17am.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.