Metal Opera The Land of New Hope from Timo Tolkki's Avalon Now Available

New Metal Opera The Land of New Hope from Timo Tolkki's Avalon Now AvailableWhen news of The Land of New Hope, a post-apocalyptic metal opera from Timo Tolkki's Avalon, landed in our inbox, it just sounded too cool to not share with our readers so here's some info along with a video of the first single.

From the Press Release:
Timo Tolkki's Avalon's new metal opera, THE LAND OF NEW HOPE (Frontiers Records), has made impressive album chart debuts in Europe with several Top 100 album chart bows, including a Top 10 album chart debut in composer Timo Tolkki's native Finland. The exciting concept album's debut numbers are as follows: Finland - #7, Sweden - #42, Switzerland - #59, Norway - #80, and Germany - #90. The album is available digitally from iTunes and in regular and deluxe physical versions (see EvilShop links at the bottom of the page). The deluxe edition features a 30-minute documentary on the making-of the album and two videos.

THE LAND OF NEW HOPE takes place more than 40 years in the future when most of the planet has been destroyed by natural disasters. The title of the opera refers to the safe haven that a small group of survivors seek. THE LAND OF NEW HOPE is composed by one of the forefathers of the power metal genre, former Stratovarius main songwriter and guitarist, Timo Tolkki. Below you'll see the sultry video for the first single, "Enshrined in My Memory," featuring the beautiful Elize Ryd (Amaranthe).

For this unique concept album Tolkki was able to gather some of most accomplished international singers: Michael Kiske (Unisonic, Helloween), Elize Ryd (Amaranthe), Rob Rock (Impellitteri), Russell Allen (Symphony X), Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation), and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica). Rounding out the stunning line-up are world-renowned musicians Alex Holzwarth (Rhapsody of Fire) on drums; Jens Johansson (Stratovarius), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Black Country Communion), and Mikko Härkin (Sonata Arctica) on keyboards; with Tolkki himself taking care of all guitars, bass, and production duties. The orchestrations are by Sami Boman with opera vocals by Magdalena Lee

THE LAND OF NEW HOPE came about as the result of a discussion that began years ago between Timo Tolkki and Frontiers Records President Serafino Perugino. Perugino, a longtime Stratovarius fan, suggested Tolkki return to the original Stratovarius sound in a more symphonic fashion. In August 2012 Tolkki began work on what would become THE LAND OF NEW HOPE. With the full support of Frontiers Records and Serafino Perugino's executive production, THE LAND OF NEW HOPE opens a new chapter in Tolkki's career.

It’s A.D. 2055, and most big cities of planet earth are either flooded with tsunamis or destroyed by earthquakes and fire. The whole infrastructure and all communication systems have broken down. The destruction is total. A small group of survivors leaves on a quest to find a sacred place known as “The Land of New Hope”. It is an old fairytale that has been told for decades, but very few have actually ever believed in its existence. They travel far on a journey that is full of dangers and come across a seer who guides them further. She explains to them that “The Land of New Hope” does exist, but it is guarded by a Keeper and only those who are pure in heart can pass him. They wander on toward their ultimate destiny...

Track Listing:
1 Avalanche Anthem
2 A World Without Us
3 Enshrined in My Memory
4 In the Name of the Rose
5 We Will Find a Way
6 Shine
7 The Magic of the Night
8 To the Edge of the Earth
9 I'll Sing You Home
10 The Land of New Hope

New Metal Opera The Land of New Hope from Timo Tolkki's Avalon Now Available

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Find a safe haven in our comments section below!