Legendary Pictures Bringing The Damned to the Big Screen

default-featured-image

Though it hasn’t even been released yet, Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel The Damned has already been scooped up for a feature film adaptation, which lets us know that it’s one book that’s going to be worth reading. Speaking of reading, you’ll find all the details by reading on!

Per Variety today, Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to the novel, being published on February 10th by Simon & Schuster. The book is described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense and Jacob’s Ladder.

Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project.

Andrew Pyper is the award-winning author of six internationally bestselling novels. Lost Girls won the Arthur Ellis Award, was selected as a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and appeared on the New York Times and Times (UK) bestseller lists. The Killing Circle was a New York Times Best Crime Novel of the Year. Three of Pyper’s novels, including The Demonologist, are in active development for feature film.

Synopsis:
After he survived a fire that claimed the life of his twin sister, Ashleigh, Danny Orchard wrote a bestselling memoir about going to Heaven and back. But despite the resulting fame and fortune, he’s never been able to enjoy his second chance at life.

Ash won’t let him.

In life, Danny’s charming and magnetic twin had been a budding psychopath who privately terrorized her family—and death hasn’t changed her wicked ways. Ash has haunted Danny for twenty years, and now, just when he’s met the love of his life and has a chance at real happiness, she wants more than ever to punish him for being alive—so she sets her sights on Danny’s new wife and stepson.

Danny knows what Ash really wants is him, and he’s prepared to sacrifice himself in order to save the ones he loves. But to do this, he’ll have to meet his sister where she now resides—and hope that this time, he can keep her there forever.

damned - Legendary Pictures Bringing The Damned to the Big Screen

Tags:
Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter