in

Krysten Ritter Joins Netflix’s NIGHT BOOKS From BRIGHTBURN Director

Netflix and David Yarovesky’s (Brightburn) adaptation of J.A. White children’s horror-fantasy book Night Books has snagged Krysten Ritter (Breaking Bad).

Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis will pen the script which follows a boy obsessed with scary stories, who is imprisoned by an evil young witch (Ritter) in her contemporary New York City apartment. He meets a girl who is also trapped there and learns he must tell a new scary story every night in order to stay alive.

Sounds like Tales from the Darkside to me…

Winslow Fegley (Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made) and Lidya Jewett (Good Girls) will co-star in the family flick which Sam Raimi and Robert Tapert (Don’t Breathe, Evil Dead) will produce with Mason Novick and Michelle Knudsen.

Here’s the book’s rundown via Amazon:

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales. BUY IT HERE.

Krysten Ritter Joins Netflixs NIGHT BOOKS From BRIGHTBURN Director 1024x536 - Krysten Ritter Joins Netflix’s NIGHT BOOKS From BRIGHTBURN Director

Have you read Night Books? Make sure to hit us up and let us know what you think in the comments below or over on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram

Written by Mike Sprague

Selena Gomez Teamsd with STRANGER THINGS Producer for BLACK SWAN Style Horror Thriller DOLLHOUSE 150x150 - Selena Gomez & STRANGER THINGS Producer Team for BLACK SWAN-Style Horror Thriller DOLLHOUSE

Selena Gomez & STRANGER THINGS Producer Team for BLACK SWAN-Style Horror Thriller DOLLHOUSE

Netflix Snags SXSW Short SELFIE HD 150x150 - Netflix Snags SXSW Short SELFIE For Feature Treatment

Netflix Snags SXSW Short SELFIE For Feature Treatment