Nerdist Says Welcome to Deadland in August

You may not know that in addition to being an online destination for genre and pop culture content, Nerdist also recently held a publishing contest; and the winning novel, Welcome to Deadland, is heading our way later this summer. If you’re looking for a zombie tale that falls outside the box, this one’s for you!

From the Press Release:
In a thrilling debut, Zac Linville’s Welcome to Deadland (pre-order from Amazon) won Nerdist’s first publishing contest on Inkshares last summer. The book will be published in hardcover on August 9, 2016, and is set to launch at San Diego Comic-Con this July.

A far cry from your average zombie story, Welcome to Deadland is a coming-of-age, coming out tale set against the backdrop of the desolate land that was once Florida, now devastated by a widespread disease threatening the mass extinction of humanity.

Three people join together to fight to survive. But plagued with their own inner demons, they struggle to hold on to what makes them human in the midst of fighting against all odds to stay alive. They are striving for more than mere survival.

Rachel Heine, Editor-in-Chief of Nerdist, calls the book: “An intricately woven, fresh take on the zombie genre that keeps you guessing until the very end. Genre fans will absolutely love this thrilling tale of survival and what it means to be human.”

For fans of both Station Eleven and The Walking Dead, Welcome to Deadland is a gripping balance between human drama and visceral, heart-pounding horror. The story shifts deftly between the fraught post-apocalyptic world and “the before” — the characters’ everyday existence leading up to the apocalypse — full of love, heartbreak, discovery, and hope.

Synopsis:
A widespread disease has ravaged humanity―symptoms include: animalistic rage, violent outbursts, and a ravenous hunger for human flesh. The few people left are thrust together to fight for their lives, before the world becomes overrun by the infected. Asher, Wendy, and Rico try to reach an abandoned theme park, hoping for sanctuary. Although fear of the infected is ever-present, the group members find themselves facing some very human concerns, as well as new adversaries.

Asher is Wendy’s only friend, and she fears that she’ll lose him if he ever discovers the dark secret she’s been harboring. Reeling from heartbreak, Asher clings to Wendy as he struggles to heal. Rico is a seventeen-year-old rebel used to ditching school and partying all night―but can he outgrow his debauched behavior in order to protect a six-year-old boy who has suddenly fallen under his care? These three will have to overcome their own demons in order to save not only themselves, but the last vestiges of humanity.

welcometodeadland

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Debi Moore

I'll see you on the other side...

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .