FANGORIA Chainsaw Awards 2021 Presenters Now Include Jamie Lee Curtis, Gigi Saul Guerrero, Kevin Smith, and More

Shudder and FANGORIA announced today presenters at the 2021 FANGORIA Chainsaw Awards, premiering Sunday, April 18 at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT exclusively on Shudder, AMC Networks’ premium streaming service for horror, thriller, and the supernatural.

Related Article: The Boulet Brothers’ DRAGULA Now Renewed for a 4th Season on Shudder

The ceremony, which recognizes outstanding achievement in horror film and television, will be hosted by actor and writer David Dastmalchian (Ant-Man and the Wasp) and feature Jamie Lee Curtis (Halloween), Keith David (The Thing), Gigi Saul Guerrero (director, Culture Shock), Issa Lopez (director, Tigers Are Not Afraid), Kevin Smith (Clerks), Tananarive Due (Horror Noire: A History of Black Horror), Blumhouse founder and CEO Jason Blum, James Jude Courtney (Halloween), Doug Jones (The Shape of Water) and drag artist and The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula season two winner Biqtch Puddin’ as presenters.

This year’s nominated films include The Invisible Man, Freaky, The Dark and the Wicked, Host, and Possessor as well as actors Vince Vaughn, Kathryn Newton, Clancy Brown, and Elisabeth Moss.

Related Article: Barbara Crampton Goes Full Vamp Promoting JAKOB’S WIFE on the Cover of Fangoria

“We’re thrilled to partner with our friends at FANGORIA, a horror institution, to present their annual Chainsaw Awards, televised for the first time in years.  We hope to bring Shudder members and horror fans together for a vibrant celebration of the genre we love so much,” said Craig Engler, GM for Shudder.

“The Chainsaw Awards are an institution in horror, having existed in the magazine since 1992. Bringing them back as an actual event has been a dream, and airing them on Shudder is something we’ve been working toward since we resurrected the magazine,” said FANGORIA editor Phil Nobile Jr.

This year’s ceremony will film and host virtually with pre and post-show on socials. The ceremony will premier exclusively on the “Shudder TV” feed. It’s available only on Shudder’s TV and mobile apps and online at It will air simultaneously in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. This marks the first time the Chainsaw Awards will televise globally. The ceremony will also hit FANGORIA’s online and social platforms after the Shudder premiere.

Since 1992, the Chainsaw Awards have honored top achievements in the horror genre. Past recipients including Jonathan Demme, Sam Raimi, Robert Eggers, Toni Collette, and George Romero.

Tara Ansley, Phil Nobile Jr., and Abhi Goel executive produced The Chainsaw Awards. Armen Aghaeian and Rebekah McKendry produce.

Are you a fan of Shudder and FANGORIA? Are you excited to check out the Chainsaw Awards on Sunday, April 18th? Which presenters are you most excited to see? Let us know in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram! You can also carry on the convo with me personally on Twitter @josh_millican.



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter