Exclusive Track Debut: Listen to “Tefillin” by Michael Yezerski from THE VIGIL Soundtrack

Tomorrow, Lakeshore Records will digitally release The Vigil Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Michael Yezerski (The Tax Collector, Blindspotting). The soundtrack releases alongside the U.S. theatrical debut of the horror film, also in theaters and On Demand tomorrow from IFC Midnight.

Steeped in ancient Jewish lore and demonology, The Vigil is a supernatural horror film set over the course of a single evening in Brooklyn’s Hasidic Borough Park neighborhood. Low on funds and having recently left his insular religious community, Yakov (Dave Davis) reluctantly accepts an offer from his former rabbi and confidante (Menashe Lustig) to take on the responsibility of an overnight “shomer,” fulfilling the Jewish practice of watching over the body of a deceased community member. Shortly after arriving at the recently departed’s dilapidated house to sit the vigil, Yakov begins to realize that something is very, very wrong.

The Vigil is written and directed by Keith Thomas; the film stars Dave Davis, Menashe Lustig, and Lynn Cohen.

Today, Dread Central is thrilled to exclusively debut the track “Tefillin” from The Vigil Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Michael Yezerski. Listen to it are read more about the soundtrack’s release below.

Speaking about the philosophy behind the score, Yezerski said, “As [director] Keith Thomas and I discussed, music is memory. We associate music with the best and the worst times in our lives. For The Vigilwe needed to create a score that explored the malevolence of memory (both personal and cultural).” Yezerski went on further to note, “We needed massive textures that could read as both beautiful and brutal. The music attacks but also meditates on long and difficult lives. After all, what is the greater horror at play here – the supernatural or our lived reality?”

Purchase and stream The Vigil Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Michael Yezerski now at: https://smarturl.it/the-vigil

About Michael Yezerski

Michael Yezerski’s musical works are highly evocative, original and diverse.  

From the symphonic grittiness of David Ayer’s The Tax Collector to the quiet drama of Blindspotting; from the avant-garde horror drones of The Devil’s Candy to the heartfelt Feel the Beat and The Black Balloon; Michael brings a signature musical intensity to every project he takes on.  

Recent projects include the hit international series Mr Inbetween, Keith Thomas’ wondrously terrifying The Vigil, and the Stephen Dorff starrer Deputy for FOX / Cedar Park. 

Earlier career highlights include HBO’s Only the Dead See the End of War, his first feature film The Black Balloon (winner of 8 AFI/AACTA Awards including Best Picture), PJ Hogan’s Mental, Wolf Creek Series 2, Catching Milat, Peter Allen, the Academy Award-winning animated short, The Lost Thing and his collaboration with the Australian Chamber Orchestra, The Red Tree

Michael works from Los Angeles and Sydney. 

About Lakeshore Records

Lakeshore Records is a four-time Grammy Nominated record label, and the soundtrack arm of the Cutting Edge Group.  Lakeshore Records is the global independent leader in top line soundtrack album releases, including such popular, critically acclaimed and classic soundtracks as Bridgerton, Drive, Stranger Things, The Old Guard, Cyberpunk 2077, When They See Us, The Handmaid’s Tale, Black Mirror, Star Trek: Picard, Bojack Horseman, Les Miserables, Mandy, Narcos, Logan, The Walking Dead, Napoleon Dynamite, Bill and Ted Face the Music, Red Dead Redemption 2, Legion, the Academy Award nominated Lady Bird and Academy Award winners Moonlight, Little Miss Sunshine, American Factory, If Beale Street Could Talk and The Hurt Locker and many, many more.

Lakeshore Records works with the most respected, award-winning artists and composers such as Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Mary J. Blige, Hans Zimmer, Grimes, Common, Jonny Greenwood, Mica Levi, Willie Nelson, Alexandre Desplat, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Run the Jewels, PJ Harvey, Philip Glass, Aloe Blacc, Rhiannon Ghiddens, Daniel Lanois, Nicholas Britell, Ziggy Marley, Danny Elfman, Giorgio Moroder, Aska Matsumiya, Clint Mansell, Bootsy Collins, Thomas Newman, Kris Bowers, Cliff Martinez, Randy Newman, James Horner, Gunship, Mark Isham, Kathryn Bostic, Carter Burwell, Rolfe Kent, Josh Homme, Gustavo Santaolalla, Nina Kraviz, Dario Marianelli, Mark Mothersbaugh, The JBs, Gazelle Twin, Christophe Beck, Rachel Portman, Amanda Jones and many many more. 

As a full-service boutique record label, Lakeshore Records remains dedicated to supporting a diverse roster of world-class talent, providing top-to-bottom music services & solutions, developing innovative marketing strategies & brand partnerships, hyper-specialized artist relations & development, and crafting the greatest records in the world.

For more information, visit: www.lakeshorerecords.com

Are you excited to check out The Vigil tomorrow? What do you think of the track “Tefillin” from The Vigil Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Michael Yezerski? Let us know in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram! You can also carry on the convo with me personally on Twitter @josh_millican.



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter