Shriekfest LA Reveals 2017 Winners


Shriekfest, the Los Angeles International Film Festival & Screenplay Competiton, wrapped up this past weekend and they’ve now announced the winners of their event, which screened 48 films and had 40 screenplay finalists!

From the official press release:
“Gnaw” directed by Haylar Garcia took the Grand Jury prize for Best Horror Feature Film, “Curvature” directed by Diego Hallivis took the Best SciFi Feature Film Award, and “The Glass Coffin” directed by Haritz Zubillaga took the Best Thriller Feature Film Award.

“Burn” directed by Judson Vaughan took the Best Horror Short Film Award, “The Things They Left Behind” directed by Sara Werner won the Best SciFi Short Film Award and “Classified” directed by Kevin McMahon and Andy Dylan took the best Super Short Film Award.

The winner of the Best Horror Feature Screenplay went to “The Heebies” written by Andrea D. McGee, the winner of the Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Feature Screenplay goes to “Remote” written by Marc Roussel, and the winner of the Best Thriller Feature Screenplay goes to “Rational Panic” written by Robert Rhyne.

Festival director Denise Gossett states, “I’m so very proud of all of these talented people. It is an honor to know them.




Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter