Pre-Order Spectacular Optical’s Lost Girls: The Phantasmagorical Cinema of Jean Rollin Now

Last month, our own Debi Moore reported on the upcoming release of Spectacular Optical’s upcoming book, Lost Girls: The Phantasmagorical Cinema of Jean Rollin.  The project, which has been edited by Diabolique Magazine’s associate editor Samm Deighan, features a collection of essays on the titular filmmaker by a host of female film critics and historians.

Spectacular Optical’s releases have become essential collector’s items in genre circles, and the quality of their books is as good as it gets.  The assembled team female writers for this release is of a very high standard, and if you’re familiar with their work elsewhere you’ll know that they bring unique perspective and analysis to the table.  The fact they have chosen to tackle the work of a filmmaker who isn’t exactly synonymous with respect makes the project even more worthwhile.

The book is now available to pre-order, but in order to be released in time for summer festival season, it needs our help.  Not only will this bring a highly-anticipated book to us sooner, but there are some additional perks that will appeal to fans of Rollin and Spectacular Optical alike.

From the Press Release:

LOST GIRLS is the third book in Spectacular Optical’s ongoing series of limited run film and pop culture books, which includes KID POWER! (2014) and SATANIC PANIC: POP CULTURAL PARANOIA IN THE 1980s (2015) and will precede the previously announced YULETIDE TERROR: CHRISTMAS HORROR IN FILM AND TELEVISION, which will be released in fall of 2017.

Curated and edited by Samm Deighan (DIABOLIQUE), contributors to LOST GIRLS include some of the most important critical voices to emerge over the last decade of genre journalism: Alexandra Heller-Nicholas (SENSES OF CINEMA), Kat Ellinger (DIABOLIQUE), Virginie Selavy (ELECTRIC SHEEP), Alison Nastasi (SATANIC PANIC: POP-CULTURAL PARANOIA IN THE 1980s), Marcelline Block (ART DECADES), Rebecca Booth (DIABOLIQUE), Michelle Alexander (CINEMADROME), Lisa Cunningham (THE LAUGHING DEAD: THE HORROR-COMEDY FILM FROM BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN TO ZOMBIELAND), Heather Drain (DANGEROUS MINDS), Erin Miskell (THAT’S NOT CURRENT), Gianna D’Emilio (DIABOLIQUE) and Kier-La Janisse (HOUSE OF PSYCHOTIC WOMEN), as well as veteran horror journalist Marcelle Perks (SHIVERS, EYEBALL).

FULL LIST OF CONTENTS:

Le viol du vampire and the Last Surrealist Riot
By Gianna D’Emilio

Cults of Decadence, Cults of Rebellion: La vampire nue and Fascination
By Kat Ellinger

Les paumées du petit matin: A View of Female Violence
By Lisa Cunningham

Blood Sisters: Female Intimacy in Jean Rollin’s Conte de fée
By Samm Deighan

Poète maudit and cinéaste paria: Tristan Corbière as Inspiration for Jean Rollin’s films Les Amours jaunes and La Rose de fer
By Marcelline Block

Disgracing the Family Name: Vampirism as Societal Rebellion in Le frisson des vampires
By Heather Drain

‘Castles of Subversion’ Continued: From the roman noir and surrealism to Jean Rollin
By Virginie Selavy

Les démoniaques: Politics, Poetry, and the Supernatural Rape-Revenge Film
By Alexandra Heller-Nicholas

Manifestations In The Physical Plane: Rollin, Rape, and the Effects of Sexual Assault
By Erin Miskell

Phantasmes: Jean Rollin’s Hardcore Reveries and Work for Hire
By Samm Deighan

“Final Girl” Strategies in Les raisins de la mort, La nuit des traquées, and Les paumées du petit matin
By Marcelle Perks

The Zombie-Gore-Disaster Film…Jean Rollin Style
By Michelle Alexander

Love Among the Iron Roses: The Cemetery as a Romantic Nexus in the Films of Jean Rollin
By Alison Nastasi

Les trottoirs de Bangkok and Killing Car: Serials in Soulless Cities
By Gianna D’Emilio

Ostension, Orality, and the Ogress: The (Material) Feminist Fairy Tales of La fiancée de Dracula, La nuit des horloges, and Le masque de la Méduse
By Rebecca Booth

Afterword
By Kier-La Janisse

The funds raised here will go specifically toward printing costs and artist fees – not only designer fees, but all contributors to the book receive royalties on every copy sold. Part of our goal with Spectacular Optical is to create a small but sustainable business that is able to pay artist fees to the many awesome (and often underpaid) writers and graphic artists working in our field, and to give them books they are proud of. Any writers who contributed to our last books, KID POWER! and SATANIC PANIC: POP-CULTURAL PARANOIA IN THE 1980s can vouch for us on this count.

If we don’t reach our goal, the book will still be printed and perks will still be delivered – the book is completely written and copy-edited, contracts have been signed, photographs have been sourced and the book is being laid out. We’re well on our way! But pre-sales through Indiegogo ensure the necessary cash flow to keep everything in the allotted timeline so that we can take advantage of promotional opportunities through the busy upcoming festival season. Our goal is to debut the book at the Fantasia International Film Festival in July 2017.

LOST GIRLS will be a beautiful 6X9″, perfect-bound book, roughly 400 pages and heavily illustrated throughout with stills, posters, ads and other visual ephemera related to Rollin’s films. If we meet our goal, the book will be printed in full colour. If we don’t meet our goal, it will be in B+W with an extensive full-colour section. So if you want your book to be in full colour, please help us spread the word about the campaign so we can get the number of pre-orders we need to make that happen.

You can pre-order your copy here along with the host of available perks.

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Kieran Fisher

You have your fear, which might become reality; and you have Godzilla, which IS reality.

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .