Fear the Walking Dead Gets Early Season 4 Renewal; New Co-Showrunners Announced


We learned a few weeks ago that “Fear the Walking Dead” showrunner Dave Erickson will be departing the series following its upcoming third season to develop new projects for AMC Studios, and now we have word on who will be spearheading the just announced fourth season of “Fear.” Read on for the details!

AMC announced today that it has renewed “Fear the Walking Dead” for a fourth season, ahead of its upcoming Season 3 premiere on June 4th. In addition, Andrew Chambliss and Ian Goldberg (“Once Upon a Time”) are boarding “Fear” as co-showrunners, starting with Season 4; and Scott M. Gimple, executive producer and showrunner of “The Walking Dead,” will become an executive producer of “Fear the Walking Dead.”

“We’re very excited to continue the journey of ‘Fear the Walking Dead,’ and truly look forward to working with the talented team of Andrew Chambliss, Ian Goldberg, and Scott Gimple,” said Joel Stillerman, president of original programming and development for AMC and SundanceTV.

“We are thrilled to be joining ‘Fear the Walking Dead’ and couldn’t be more excited to work alongside the wonderful team at AMC on this show,” said Chambliss and Goldberg. “We love this universe and are truly honored to have the chance to contribute to it.”

In the second half of its second season, “Fear the Walking Dead” averaged 5.3 million viewers per episode, including 3.4 million adults 25-54 and 3 million adults 18-49 in Nielsen live+3 ratings, firmly establishing “Fear” as one of the top shows on cable.

A wholly original companion series to “The Walking Dead,” the #1 show on television among adults 18-49 for the last five years, “Fear the Walking Dead” is executive produced by Robert Kirkman, Gale Anne Hurd, Greg Nicotero, David Alpert, David Erickson, and Scott M. Gimple and produced by AMC Studios.



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter