Get An Exclusive Preview of The ‘Dexter: New Blood’ Score

Dexter New Blood score

Lakeshore Records is set to release Dexter: New Blood—Original Series Scorefeaturing music by drama series composer Pat Irwin (Nurse Jackie), digitally on October 28. Taken from the ten episodes of the first season of the SHOWTIME series starring Michael C. Hall, the 30 tracks explore familiar themes from the earlier series while pivoting to a darker, more ambient sound. An instant grat track, “New Blood (Suite 2)” will be available with every album preorder beginning October 12. 

Check out the series’ full synopsis:

The world at large believes Dexter Morgan died in a tragic boating accident, and in a way the world at large isn’t wrong. Far from the life he knew, living under a false name in the small town of Iron Lake, NY, he’s successfully tamped down his Dark Passenger for nearly 10 years. With a normal job and a Chief of Police girlfriend, it seems he’s got life under control – until his son shows up and turns his world upside down. Rattled, Dexter yields to his homicidal urges and soon finds himself on a collision course with a very dangerous local.

We got an exclusive preview of “New Blood (Suite 2)” and we’re excited to share it with you below!

Says Irwin: “I knew before I composed a note that I had to acknowledge that Dexter was a character with a past. For ‘Dexter: New Blood’ we needed to create a sound that would somehow recall the old Dexter but make it clear that we weren’t in Miami anymore. 

We wanted a cold, solitary, and ambient sound. I used a combination of vintage and new synthesizers combined with abstract guitar feedback and eccentric percussion. It got dark.”

Track List 

01. New Blood (Suite, Pt. 1) 

02. Knives 

03. Father And Son 

04. Matt Fits The Code 

05. Deb’s Presence 

06. Kurt And Lily 

07. Harrison’s Dark Passenger 

08. The Horrible Truth 

09. New Blood (Suite, Pt. 2) 

10. New Blood (Suite, Pt. 3) 

11. Kurt and Chloe 

12. Dexter’s Truth 

13. Molly Park 

14. The Clarke Caves, Finding Iris 

15. Kurt The Killer 

16. Harrison Remembers 

17. Kurt Closes In 

18. New Blood (Suite, Pt. 4) 

19. Kurt Caldwell 

20. The Batting Cage 

21. The Chase 

22. Angela Closes In   

23. Clues 

24. The Burnt Out Cabin and The Note 

25. The Evidence 

26. The Blood Moon, Dexter Talks 

27. Inevitable 

28. Angela Finds The Tomb, Dexter’s Frantic Run 

29. Sins Of The Father  

30. The Letter 

You can preorder the album here.



Sign up for The Harbinger a Dread Central Newsletter