Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones (2014)



Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones (2014)Starring Andrew Jacobs, Jorge Diaz, Gloria Sandoval, Gabrielle Walsh

Directed by Christopher Landon


The Paranormal Activity franchise has been known to defy the odds. The first film exploded upon release, and it was not really meant to have a sequel. Still, the sequel came, and it was surprisingly good. Then Paranormal Activity 3 arrived and completely knocked it out of the park. The mythos expanded. The action amped up. The plot was on a really good track. But then Paranormal Activity 4 happened, and it neglected just about everything that made the first three films work in favor of a few cool ideas that never really came together and - even worse - did nothing to advance the story. Had the franchise that launched 1,000 nightmares run out of steam? It certainly seemed that way, and the announcement of a "Latino-themed spin-off" didn't exactly bode well either. The odd thing? That announcement never should have been made the way that it was presented.

Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones is no spin-off. It's not a side story that ignores the previous films to go in its own direction. Not at all. This is 110% canon. It fits with the series perfectly and in my opinion could have easily been called Paranormal Activity 5 and no one would have complained. Hell, this should have been the Paranormal Activity 4 that we never got. If you're thinking you should skip this one and just wait for 5, think again as Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones reaches an elevated height within the franchise by breaking some new ground... and then burying you alive and screaming in it.

As for this so-called "Latino-themed" business, calling it that is a true disservice. Sure, the actors in it are mainly Latino, but so what? At no time will you feel like the powers-that-be are pandering to a particular audience. Nothing feels forced, and our leads exhibit the best chemistry the series has seen since Katie and Micah. They do things and behave the way that normal people would. This adds a feeling of authenticity to the proceedings that was sorely missing from the last flick. Yes, they're always inexplicably filming, but being the fifth film in the franchise, that's to be expected. Thankfully, the ridiculously unneeded and highly cliché "WE MUST DOCUMENT EVERYTHING; NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS, KEEP FILMING" moment never comes. In fact, the participants rarely address the camera at all, and that works in the film's favor. It is easy to ignore the shortcomings of the 400-pound gorilla in the room when you're having fun with it, and believe me, you will have fun. This is one hell of a ride, folks.

One of the main complaints from the naysayers of these films is that nothing ever happens until the end. In fact, that's a common complaint about most found footage movies. Director Christopher Landon is well aware of this, and as a result he delivers the biggest, baddest, and boldest Paranormal Activity yet. We're talking gloves-off, knock-out terror that delivers the nightmares by the dozens. This is a found footage film for people who don't like found footage films.

The frenetic pacing of the movie doesn't always serve it well, though, as the only thing I can really say is "wrong" with the film is it was kind of hard to tell how all of the characters fit together in their relationships. Were they two brothers? Were they just friends who lived together? Did they live together at all? Is that someone's sister? Wait, are there two sisters? Are those two people cousins? Yes, the answers are there, but I'm willing to bet that you will get a little confused the first time around. That's just a minor quibble, however, because the one thing I can tell you about all of the characters for sure is that you'll be invested in them. Some of them you will even love, and when they meet with peril - and you know that they will - you'll actually care. Nowadays that's no easy feat, especially for a fifth entry into the franchise that continually introduces new characters.

When the trailer premiered, lots of folks were complaining about how one of the leads was exhibiting what looked like super-powers a la Chronicle. Not to worry; in the context of the film these moments fit perfectly together and pay off in a really big way. As for the trailer itself, in typical Paranormal Activity form, no matter what you think you saw, I can assure you they saved all of the good stuff for the movie itself.

I'm not going into the plot because part of its charm is the way everything fits together. You want to know what it's about and how all of the pieces of the prior films are worked in? Take your butts to the movies. Questions are answered, storylines are advanced, and there's still room for mysteries yet to be revealed.

This is the Paranormal Activity movie you have been waiting for. It makes up for the lame fourth entry in every conceivable way. It's nothing short of an absolute gift to the passionate fans of this storied franchise. The Marked Ones proves without a shadow of a doubt that Paranormal Activity is back in top form... with a wicked and evil vengeance.

4 out of 5

Discuss Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones in the comments section below!




-->



This comment thread is more entertaining than the film.


Submitted by Chernobyl Kinsman on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 1:17am.
frank_dracman's picture

It's got everything! Surprising twists! New characters! Dramatic one on one battles! And let's not forget the subplot of a bitter, argumentative man slowly descending into madness. I can't wait to see how it ends.


Submitted by frank_dracman on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 12:58pm.
Mormo Zine's picture

I thought it was the scariest Paranormal Activity yet. I grew up in Hispanic communities and have seen this witchcraft first hand so maybe it touched me in a personal way. Having said that watching the film gave me extreme motion sickness. When I got home I violently puked several times and also got a severe nosebleed while vomiting.


Submitted by Mormo Zine on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 12:33am.
kiddcapone's picture

"stop wasting your time telling people the movie sucks because it's not going to change their mind on whether they like it or not."

If I had that much power through the written internet word, this franchise would have been finished after the first film.

Look around, where are all the positive comments? If I'm so far off, where are the dozens of The Marked Juans lovers talking about how amazing this film is? Why am I not in the minority? This is one of the best horror movie sites on the entire web with a high volume of traffic, so where are all the horror fans encouraging others to see it? PA has a big fan base, where are they? What exactly did I say that's incorrect?

The truth is, virtually NO ONE really went to see it. Want proof? It opened lower than any other PA film. The Rotten Tomatoes score has plunged down to a pathetic 39%. After 2 weeks, the film has dropped 66% at the box office down to 9th place. PA 4 is universally recognized as the worst entry in the series, and this one scored even lower at Cinemascore with a putrid C- rating.

This has nothing to do with not personally liking the PA movies. I was on here singing it's praises after watching PA3. This has everything to do with PA 4.5 being a huge pile of dog shit. Last time I checked, we're free to praise and bash all the movies listed on this site, that's what an open conversation is all about.

If you haven't seen this, and judging by the numbers you haven't, you're much more lucky than this guy. This turd will be out of the theaters in 2 weeks. Guaranteed.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Sun, 01/12/2014 - 10:20pm.

I haven't bothered reading into all of your comments here because a lot of it is just bashing people and craziness. Would love it if you would give a full review right here in the comment section. FULL REVIEW and point out to us exactly why you hated it so much. You don't need to be a jerk about it either just an honest and professional review since you are so knowledgeable. If you've already done so then I guess I will find it but after skimming I don't think you have.


Submitted by jay on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 7:20am.
Sirand's picture

"PA 4 is universally recognized as the worst entry in the series, and this one scored even lower at Cinemascore with a putrid C- rating."

So it got the same Cinemascore as "The Wolf of Wall Street?" Since that was the best film of 2013, that's awfully good company to be in. Neither came close to the B+ "A Good Day To Die Hard" got....cause, man, we all know how great that movie was.

If you're gonna use these stupid polling websites to prove a point, it only shows how shit the tastes of mainstream moviegoers are.


Submitted by Sirand on Sun, 01/12/2014 - 10:44pm.
kiddcapone's picture

Just curious, what criteria would you use oh great Hollywood insider? Apparently box office numbers, revenue, reviews, scores, declining trends, etc, all that means nothing if Andrew personally likes it.

The numbers only paint a partial picture, I will never dispute that. But if they are in your favor, I've certainly seen you throw them out in the past. I'm just stating the facts, which is better than some random guy posting a review that isn't a review, just saying it's great, with no real explanation of why.

Do you know what a great review can get you? "Exclusive" interviews with the film director. Exclusive footage to use for news. Quotes on the poster. Maybe a gig doing some editing on the DVD. It certainly opens more doors than just being brutally honest. Hell, if you forgot, go back and listen to DFF again about PA4. You didn't "hate it" and Steve still gave it 2.5 (being generous), and strangely enough, you're the only two praising this one again, even though, the same exact issues with 4 are in 4.5 as I documented. So, where is Buz? Or Foy? Or anyone else but you two overly biased fans?

I'll say it again: Where are all the great reviews and comments from horror fans? Horror fans see EVERYTHING. Why is no one going to see this if there's a positive word-of-mouth going around?

One last question: Why don't you let Foy do the official PA review with every new release?


Submitted by kiddcapone on Sun, 01/12/2014 - 11:56pm.
The Buz's picture

I'm going see it today.

You also need to calm down. No need to be rude, Kidd.


Submitted by The Buz on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 4:21pm.
kiddcapone's picture

Trust me, I'm calm and not trying to be rude. You have the DFF to yell at each other and get it out of your system, my only venue is typing words in a comments section that are always open to interpretation of malicious intent when it’s not intended.

I look forward to hearing what you think.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 4:36pm.
The Buz's picture

What you said to Andrew was rude, and quite out of line.

Firstly, it's just not true. Andrew works his ass off and is far from a "dvd bonus feature editor". Does he do that on occasion? Yeah. It pays. I do it too, on occasion. He makes time to do it in between his Bad Robot and Warner Brothers gigs.

Secondly, that is no way to discuss, or debate anything. It has literally nothing to do with the topic at hand. It negates the rest of your argument, which by the way might have some merit to it if you kept yourself calm, cool, and collected. And that's coming from the guy that started screaming about the Jaeger program in Pacific Rim.

And thirdly, I saw it. It's not bad. Not great, but not bad. Scares were non existent minus that basement scene, but the characters were a lot of fun. We go into it fully on DFF.


Submitted by The Buz on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 11:04pm.
kiddcapone's picture

I'm no more rude than the condescending arrogant holier-than-thou attitude Kasch has displayed for over a decade dating back to the Fangoria message boards. The only difference is, he has immunity because he's your friend and a member of the official clique. If he wants to post patronizing comments then he should be big enough to deal with the responses from someone not impressed by his delusional self importance.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 12:03am.
(No subject)
Sirand's picture


Submitted by Sirand on Tue, 01/14/2014 - 1:48pm.
Sirand's picture

"Apparently box office numbers, revenue, reviews, scores, declining trends, etc, all that means nothing if Andrew personally likes it."

Now you're catching on. Everything you listed means jack shit about a movie's quality.

"Do you know what a great review can get you? "Exclusive" interviews with the film director. Exclusive footage to use for news. Quotes on the poster. Maybe a gig doing some editing on the DVD. It certainly opens more doors than just being brutally honest."

Holy shit! You totally have us pegged! We're all a bunch of sychophants who spend our days blowing Hollywood executives to get gigs. I personally had to give 47 handjobs and a positive review of YellowBrickRoad before they would let me join the union.

Your ideas about how things work in this town are hilarious. It's like listening to all the little trolls on Ain't It Cool News who scream "Plant!" every time a positive review is posted.

How hard is it to wrap your brain around the fact that some people just like these movies? You always harp on your nostalgic love for the Friday the 13th movies of the 80's. I hate to burst your bubble, but those were no better. And if they had come out now, you and half the internet would be railing against them.


Submitted by Sirand on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 1:24pm.
kiddcapone's picture

In the "movie" industry, you are the equivalent of the guy who plays an out-of-focus extra in the background during occasional restaurant scenes for Two Broke Girls waiting for the “big break” that will never arrive. Don’t worry; I’m sure your talents will make you rise about the million other people in Hollywood that have trivial jobs in the industry and will never amount to anything. You’re better than the guy who did editing on the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse episode #121. Keep hope alive!

I do know this. If I was Christopher Landon and looking for a place to grant a free “exclusive” interview for a website, would I choose the place that said my movie was complete dog shit or the place that is currently singing my praises opening the doors for future directorial gigs? Especially when an overwhelming majority of places all say my movie sucks balls. That’s why Steve gets the PA review assignments and not Foy (who is right on point with these flicks).

I understand people do like these films. I get it, there are people who like the Leprechaun films, so to each his/her own. What I don’t understand is why the entire list of reasons given during the DFF for PA4 about why that movie sucks is present YET AGAIN but this time around the film not only gets a pass, but is praised as being tied for best. I’ve heard complaints about police not putting up caution tape during Fright Night as a major beef, but this one had incompetent police who can’t find a trap door in the floor leading to a devil worship chamber during a crime scene investigation. Or the fact if someone had the ability to transport back into the past, they would easily RULE THE WORLD. If you are creating an “army” for evil purposes, you can go back in time and win the Power Ball and human traffic all the victims your heart desires while eliminating potential hindrances along the way (ala Terminator).

As far as Friday the 13th is concerned, at least those films, no matter how shitty, all had a start, middle, and shitty finish, with a nod towards a sequel at the end. You can watch each film independently and enjoy a creative death or two. You did not sit through 3 consecutive sequels of a storyline running in place with little to no advance of the storyline. They didn’t all end with Jason running at the falling camera before the end credits. Tell me what stands out in The Marked Juans? A guy pulling a black hair out of his eyeball? The black egg oozing black blood during the voodoo exorcism scene? Oooooh, so freaky and scary….


Submitted by kiddcapone on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 2:06pm.

"Tell me what stands out in The Marked Juans? A guy pulling a black hair out of his eyeball? The black egg oozing black blood during the voodoo exorcism scene? Oooooh, so freaky and scary…."

LOL shows your ignorance and know it all attitude right there, I'm pretty sure it wasn't blood oozing out of the the egg but rather he crushed her hand when he grabbed it. If you can't even notice small details like that then stick to your campy horror movies. This franchise has more depth than you believe but because of your negativity you will never understand all of the great things it has to offer.

I for one thought that they did things that was brand new to the found footage genre... for one, the whole camera down the bedroom vent, that was amazing and I was literally giddy as they were doing it just waiting to see what they would find. The fact is that this franchise is producing the best quality found footage films and each entry is bringing fresh elements to the table. If you're a fan of found footage then this stuff is must see.


Submitted by jay on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 7:35pm.
moderator Umm... No one gets
Steve Barton's picture

Umm... No one gets assignments in terms of reviews. If you're gonna comment on how we do things around here, you can try and at least ask what the process is before you just assume.

I do the reviews One - Because I live in California where they test screen before the rest of the country and Two - Because I'm a fan of the series, yet that didn't stop me from saying how bad part 4 was, now did it?

Foy or anyone else is perfectly capable of writing counter-reviews We've published multiple reviews on the site for a single film dozens of times.

You're speaking out of ignorance.

And we're far from the only site that had an exclusive interview with Landon. It's called a press day. At these events journalists gather for interviews with the participants of the subject and talk to them. There's no choosing or preferential treatment. It's a job.

And he needs no one to defend him but you're way out of line with Andrew. Here's a dude who's not only very respected around town, but who's also the fucking co-director of one the biggest and most well received film documentaries ever created. NSA won multiple awards and to this very day is considered a benchmark moment in the film business. Long after Andrew and the rest of us are gone, people will still be talking about that film.

What's your claim to fame? Giving people grief over having a different opinion than you do? Again... you do this to yourself. You know you don't like these movies yet every year you go and then complain about how you hated them, and were robbed, and we're shills. It's idiocy, really. It's like revisiting a whore who you know gave you herpes.


Submitted by Steve Barton on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 3:50pm.
kiddcapone's picture

I can only speak from an outsider’s perspective. It appears that these films are untouchable, even despite the negative comments about part 4 that still got a 2.5 knife review. Yes, I’ve seen some counter-reviews, but not for these films, and I think it’s partly because people know how much you like them and choose to talk about other shit to avoid conflict. Again, I can be way off, but perspective is reality.

If my main goal was only giving people grief, why doesn’t every review turn into some long epic rant for films I don’t like? It’s not a secret, I really liked PA3. You basically told me that if I liked 3, I will like 4.5. I didn’t do this to myself. I wasn’t going to see it but I gave it the benefit of the doubt based on your personal recommendation. I originally posted just to bust some balls but everyone got their panties in a bunch. I’m just getting the conversation going, otherwise, we’d all be talking about the Robocop remake.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 4:55pm.
Foywonder's picture

Here is an actual photo taken inside the theater as I watched Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones with Uncle Creepy. See if you can guess who is who reacting to the film.


Submitted by Foywonder on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 6:32pm.

Are you the roses on the table?


Submitted by Chernobyl Kinsman on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 9:41pm.
Sirand's picture

"I do know this. If I was Christopher Landon and looking for a place to grant a free “exclusive” interview for a website"

As opposed to what - a paid exclusive interview?
You're grasping at straws here, kiddy. The reason you see content on websites like these is because the studios take the best avenues to reach their intended audience. Just like Ain't It Cool will get exclusives with Joss Whedon because of their comic book crowd, so will Dread, Shock & Bloody (who all reviewed PA:TMO favorably BTW) get the most horror franchise coverage. It's a little word called "demographics" and the entire industry hinges on it.

"this one had incompetent police who can’t find a trap door in the floor leading to a devil worship chamber during a crime scene investigation."

Cause if there's one thing living in Hollywood has taught me, it's that nothing gets passed the LAPD... LOL!

"Or the fact if someone had the ability to transport back into the past, they would easily RULE THE WORLD."

Guess the witches haven't built a Dolorean yet. Actually, if you paid attention, they explicitly state that these gateways can only go back to very specific DARK events in the past - hence, it's limited. So yeah, ruling the world is a bit of a stretch.

"As far as Friday the 13th is concerned, at least those films, no matter how shitty, all had a start, middle, and shitty finish, with a nod towards a sequel at the end. You can watch each film independently and enjoy a creative death or two. You did not sit through 3 consecutive sequels of a storyline running in place with little to no advance of the storyline."

You're so right. At least the Jason films knew how to change things up. Remember the one where he went to Camp Crystal Lake and killed a bunch of teenagers before being dispatched by the final girl? They certainly didn't do that through endless consecutive sequels.

"Tell me what stands out in The Marked Juans?"

Likeable characters. Actual stakes. Some great set-pieces. Amped-up carnage. An expansion of the mythology. Armed cholos vs witches. A clever ending. Hell, even some of the negative reviews say it's one of the better installments.

If you want to hear my detailed thoughts, tune in to the next DFF - since you seem to have a borderline erotic fixation on me.


Submitted by Sirand on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 3:09pm.

Epic comeback LOL.

"Cause if there's one thing living in Hollywood has taught me, it's that nothing gets passed the LAPD... LOL!"

This is the truth right here.... LAPD has one of the most scandalous histories ever when it comes to law enforcement agencies and you are going to keep complaining that they forgot a trap door? Do you even realize the things LAPD has done in real life?? Far worse than missing a trap door. This is what I've been trying to tell people with these weak complaints, stop nitpicking and reaching for errors. It was a fun movie that brought some cool elements to the table. Stop going into movies and acting like you are a professional trying to review it because in reality you are just trying to find any little thing that will allow you to bitch about it.


Submitted by jay on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 7:45pm.
kiddcapone's picture

Seriously, are you for real? You've got to be putting me on. Does Christopher Landon have young children with internet access? I don't always agree with people but I haven't read a series of posts this silly from one person since Rob Zombie fans were praising the Halloween remake.

Stop nitpicking and reaching for errors, they are all weak complaints, just accept the fact Rob Zombie perfected the character of Michael Myers and added depth that even John Carpenter can only dream about...Rob Zombie rules with his fun movies, that is the truth right there! Epic!

Awhhhh, brings back memories....

It's a discussion. You asked for reasons why the film doesn't work. Using your flawed logic, no film is ever bad because all reasons for disliking something should automatically be ignored in the name of "fun". I'm not alone with this. The film is tanking because the majority of people who watched it obviously don't find it as "fun" as you, they found it rather shitty, hence the daily drop on sites like Rotten Tomatoes, down to 38% overall. Every passing day more angry people who wasted their money give their opinion and this turd continues to drop like a brick until it reaches the bargain bin at Best Buy.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 8:58pm.
kiddcapone's picture

You only hear what you want to hear in a lame attempt at making some invalid point.

Again, if Landon had to choose which site to sit down with, Bloody Disgusting or Dread for example, to reach its intended target audience, would he pick the place that ripped his film a new asshole or the one that loved it and will be most flattering? Not rocket science here. It’s like asshole Ted Cruz picking Fox News over MSNBC.

Now you’re an authority on the LAPD crime scene investigations. Not surprising. I guess if the film took place somewhere else, you’d say it was still plausible. The cellar door was clear as day.

Yes, I paid attention, specific dark events in the past. So, out of all the “dark” events in history, the night Katie killed Micah stood out? Really? That was a lame attempt to pull the movies together, nothing more. And besides, the point still stands, unless the film ends with the witches winning, whoever runs interference with the master “plan” can easily be dispatched if they go back to the night Katie killed Micah and kill that person.

Friday films reused the same formula, but it wasn’t continuous chapters in an ongoing story. The PA used the same exact scenes and only changed the location. No one watched Friday films to see where the Jason story was headed like a soap opera.

3 films after the witches were introduced and you still don’t know their intent. 90 minutes of the same recycled shit later and The Marked Juans advanced the storyline by ending up at the same exact house as part 3 with another satanic kool-aid man run at the camera. Some people are “marked” by the witches for something that is going to happen. Wow, the story is really steaming along now. I’m on pins and needles …Besides, who cares if some negative reviews said it’s one of the better installments; that’s irreverent and invalid according to you. Can’t judge a film that way, unless you ‘re using it as a reference.

And FYI: I don’t listen to DFF for your input, in fact; you’re the least entertaining member of the show. The best parts are when you’re shitty phone dies and you get disconnected for long stretches, so don’t flatter yourself. It’s a fun listen in spite of you, not because of you.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 3:45pm.

"Yes, I paid attention, specific dark events in the past. So, out of all the “dark” events in history, the night Katie killed Micah stood out? Really? That was a lame attempt to pull the movies together, nothing more. And besides, the point still stands, unless the film ends with the witches winning, whoever runs interference with the master “plan” can easily be dispatched if they go back to the night Katie killed Micah and kill that person."

They JUST introduced the "Doorway", obviously they will need the time to really explore it. All of your complaints are just ridiculous.


Submitted by jay on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 7:49pm.
MonsterMash's picture

While I'm not joining in on this whole thing again, but the whole LAPD thing reminds me of a big complaint on Texas Chainsaw 3D a lot of people have. Gun or not, nobody is going to chase a seven-foot maniac, unstable as fuck, wearing human skin through the woods in the middle of the night. Anyone with the slightest sense of self-preservation will tell you that.


Submitted by MonsterMash on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 4:37pm.

In my opinion The Marked Ones would have had much better number with an October release. You claim that Horror fans see everything but I am a huge horror fan who doesn't watch everything labelled "horror". This is definitely the best horror website out but I don't bother with half the movies that are talked about because I simply need a trailer and synopsis to know if I will like something or not. Majority of horror being brought out is nonsense B-movies that are horrible. Everyone has just jumped on the bandwagon of hating this movie but I don't see any real reason why. People talk about the camera work and why the camera is always on and that there's no reason to film.... why don't people just want to use their imagination to believe that these are 18 year old kids that want to tape everything, you know kind of like the entire world does now in real life. Go on youtube and click on millions of videos that make no sense to film. If the things like that are being picked at then you are going to have a hard time enjoying movies with that attitude. Too many people went to see this movie that already had negative thoughts about it. If you don't like it then it's going to be hard to change your mind.


Submitted by jay on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 7:12am.

Here comes the most simple review anybody will need when it comes to Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones.....

If you are a fan of the franchise it is a MUST watch.

If you are not a fan of the franchise, stop wasting your money on things you don't like, stop wasting your time telling people the movie sucks because it's not going to change their mind on whether they like it or not. Also, please feel free to feel like an idiot because you continue to waste money on things you don't like just so you bitch and moan about it after.

PS: It's hard to enjoy a movie when you already have the idea that you aren't going to like it. Go in with an open mind or stfu about it.


Submitted by jay on Sun, 01/12/2014 - 11:43am.
kiddcapone's picture

Come on, where is Foy when you need him ????

Doesn't anyone ever go to the movies anymore? For my own amusement, I want to hear what everyone thinks about it. See it before it's gone, because it won't be in theaters very long.

And after you see this, I issue this challenge: Go back and listen again to the DFF with PA 4 about why that film sucked and tell me if it reminds you of The Marked Ones. It's fucking hilarious.

A few complaints from that show:

No good reason for filming everything.
No scares.
Virtually, the same shit happens with little advancement of the plot.
Too many jump scares that don't work.
Possessed person turns into the satanic Kool-Aid man and runs at the camera to end the film.
Witches just standing around like groupies in a Def Leppard Rock of Ages music video.
It ends in a house with the possessed person slamming up against every locked door.

I guess a 4th film that is basically the same shit recycled is bad, but a 5th film that recycles the same shit is tied for the best in the series and you are being silly for not expecting it. That logic is almost as confusing as the knife rating system for movies that suck.


Submitted by kiddcapone on Thu, 01/09/2014 - 2:17pm.
nazo's picture

I'll go and post my thoughts if you mail me the ten bucks for the ticket. Otherwise, I'm not particularly eager to waste my money on the fifth installment of a series that has offered nothing but camp value after the first one. It's not even that 2 & 3 were that bad, just completely forgettable and more silly than scary. I didn't even bother with the fourth one.


Submitted by nazo on Fri, 01/10/2014 - 1:22am.
Sirand's picture

I guess I shouldn't be surprised when people start screaming "shill" just because they can't comprehend how people could like a franchise they have a personal disdain for. It's become as predictable as Fox News' "War On Christmas" specials.

Nevermind that all the other horror websites reviewed it favorably or that the general consensus is that it's one of the better installments.

Some people like the Friday the 13th movies even though it's the same, brainless stuff made over and over and over and over again. I prefer something like the PA series that has a deepening mystery and mythology that (aside from the lame 4th film) continues to expand.

At this point, anyone who goes into the 5th film in a series and complains about all the same shit all over again is just being silly. These movies are either for you or they aren't. But it doesn't change the fact that they mostly succeed at what they do.


Submitted by Sirand on Sun, 01/05/2014 - 1:29pm.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.