Descent Part 2, The (DVD)



The Descent Part 2 on DVDReviewed by Uncle Creepy

Starring Shauna Macdonald, Natalie Jackson Mendoza, Krysten Cummings, Gavan O'Herlihy

Directed by Jon Harris

Distributed by Lionsgate Home Entertainment


The first thing I'm going to do is ask that you ignore the horrid cover art you see to your right which makes The Descent Part 2 look like a truly cheeseball and without merit affair. Seriously, who signed off on that? Wow. If ever there was a time to not judge a book by its cover, it's pertaining to this film. Moving on ...

The Descent Part 2 picks right up after the alternate ending of the first movie (the one we got here in the States) with our main character, Sarah (Macdonald), climbing out of the cave, finding a car, and heading immediately to the hospital. Now completely traumatized, Sarah's mind has broken down, and she has no memory of what has happened to her friends or of the flesh-eating cave dwellers who besieged them.

With several people missing, including the daughter of a politician, the authorities are being pressed big-time to find out what happened to everyone. Having no other choice, they convince our heroic amnesiac to head back down into the -- for the most part -- unexplored cave system as a means to find some answers. As you can imagine, what they find is terror. Pure gore-soaked terror.

The Descent Part 2 on DVDWhile not as good as Neil Marshall's original venture into this territory, Jon Harris has still managed to create a more than competent sequel that does a fine job of carrying on down the road that was left before him. The only real problem is that the filmmakers seemed a lot more concerned with going for gross-out gags this time around than they did making the movie as frightening and suspenseful as the first. All the elements are there, but this time the creatures seem to be conveniently separated instead of running in packs and responding to each other's cries to alert others of their new found lunch. They're also a bit over-exposed. I'm sorry, but once you feature a scene with your big bad taking a shit, there's nowhere left to go scare-wise.

In terms of supplemental material we get a fine package to sift through. Things kick off with a busy audio commentary with director Jon Harris and actors Shauna Macdonald, Krysten Cummings, and Anna Skellern that thankfully ends up on the entertaining side of the fence, and from there we get a twenty-five-minute making-of featurette that's home to interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, etc. Brisk, never boring, and pretty damned good! In addition we have around eleven minutes of deleted scenes, including an alternate opening, and your standard storyboard gallery. All in all, much like the film itself, it's not too shabby!

If you can put up with the blatant rapid-fire attempts to make you scream "Ewwwwww!" at your TV, there's a lot to like about the flick. At the very least it's miles better than what we all thought it would be upon its announcement -- and truth be told? It's so good that we wouldn't mind revisiting these caves and these characters for a third go-around. Violent, claustrophobic, and definitely fun, The Descent Part 2 gives you pretty much everything you could have wanted in a sequel. Nowadays that's no easy task!

Special Features

  • Audio commentary with director Jon Harris and actors Shauna Macdonald, Krysten Cummings, and Anna Skellern
  • The Making-of The Descent Part 2: Deeper and Darker featurette
  • Deleted scenes
  • Storyboard gallery

    Film

    3 1/2 out of 5

    Special Features

    3 1/2 out of 5

    Discuss The Descent Part 2 in our forums!




  • -->



    Floydian Trip's picture

    Creepy are you positive you watched this movie? I expected it to be bad but not B movie, no better than a Syfy original bad. It's fitting they took the pool of blood idea from the original and turned it into a pool of shit. I honestly think this is Foy Wonder review bad. It took 3 fucking guys to write this screenplay? What a joke. The Descent is probably my favorite horror film of the last 10 years. There was a big opportunity here to make a great sequel with this premise. They must have looked at everything that made the first one so great and decided to do the exact opposite of it all. The effects are laughable. I should have watched Mothman and called it a day.


    Submitted by Floydian Trip on Wed, 04/28/2010 - 4:42pm.
    FireRam's picture

    I still haven't seen the end of this movie. I saw it up to where they came across Juno and then I had to leave. I know it was NOT as good as the first, and absolutely NO character development, hell I wasn't even sure who it was that got killed first, I had to go back and rewatch, but it wasn't horrible. It's not great, but not as bad as some make it out to be. I need to see it through though.


    Submitted by FireRam on Wed, 04/28/2010 - 6:13pm.
    Floydian Trip's picture

    The dialogue is awful, the plot is awful, the characters are awful. Did you not want them to die? How many times do we have to see a throat getting ripped out? These writers are horrible. It's pathetic, moronic, omfg, I could take notes and rip on every single scene in the movie. It was so much worse than I expected. Why did they pander to the US audience with this POS? It doesn't even work with the real ending, the ending the rest of the world got. Neil Marshall's wife is waiting to hear my opinion on it and I'm not holding back. It's an abomination.


    Submitted by Floydian Trip on Wed, 04/28/2010 - 6:30pm.
    e-x-i-t's picture

    as much as i usually like and agree with uncle creepy's reviews, i will second (or third or fourth or whatever it's at by now) the opinion that he went easy on this. fair enough, i REALLY wanted to like it as well but the further i get from the initial viewing the less i feel like ever watching it again.

    first off, i thought the "bummer" ending was great in the first one. second, i'm a big fan of "final girl" horror flicks so the all-female cast made the first one even better for me...plus the actresses in that one had skill. these folks, not so much - when the first kill happened i had to rewind to figure out who the victim was since character development was dead like disco throughout the movie.

    and yeah, the ending SUCKED. like "dumber than fight club times high tension to the power of the sopranos" sucked. juno looked crazy hot for a chick covered in monster shit, at least.


    Submitted by e-x-i-t on Sun, 04/18/2010 - 2:05am.
    moderator I dunno, the movie just
    Steve Barton's picture

    I dunno, the movie just worked for me. Maybe its because I went into it expecting the worst. Was it the greatest thing ever? Not by a mile. Was it pretty solid? I thought so.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Mon, 04/19/2010 - 2:32am.
    Floydian Trip's picture

    I'm gonna rent it day 1 but I know it's complete bullshit because they all died in the original and the plot is completely asinine. They could have started with a whole new cast and made an attempt at coming close to the originals greatness but no!

    Let me go on DFF and rip Creepy too.

    "The Descent Part 2 gives you pretty much everything you could have wanted in a sequel."

    I'd have to ask what Creepy's favorite sequels are too 'cause one of 'em aint Aliens.


    Submitted by Floydian Trip on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 10:17pm.
    moderator Actually, I love Aliens, so
    Steve Barton's picture

    Actually, I love Aliens, so before you talk shit see the movie! LOL


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:14pm.
    Floydian Trip's picture

    I intend to. The 27th right? I'm already seething with anger at the mere thought that this exists.

    I'll make it a double feature with Mega Piranha since both movies got the same score.


    Submitted by Floydian Trip on Thu, 04/15/2010 - 10:19am.
    Terminal's picture

    Ooh it's on now! Cat fight! Cat Fight!
    ----------
    "We are bad guys. That means we've got more to do other than bullying companies. It's fun to lead a bad man's life."


    Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:21pm.
    Foywonder's picture

    I look forward to the next Dinner For Fiends because I am going to rip Creepy a good one for going so easy on this crap. No character development other than to completely destroy the character dynamic between Sarah and Juno that made the ending to the original so good. How about the idiot sheriff who even as they are trapped underground and being attacked by monsters still slaps the cuffs on Sarah? And if you didn't like either ending of the original just wait until you see the bullshit that caps off this one. Pretty damn good, my ass! This is a glorified Syfy sequel that may be competently made but is such a pale imitation of its original it's pathetic. I knew I should have written the review for this one. Way to go, Noma... I mean Creepy.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 9:46pm.
    Vanvance1's picture

    Go easy on Creepy. I rank the original 'The Descent' as THE best monster movie since 'The Thing' and one of the top horror flicks of the last decade. I have seen it 5 times.

    Having said that and understanding that there is NO need for a sequel to a movie that had a perfect ending (the original, not the American version) part 2 isn't awful.

    Taken as a stand alone flick it would even be better than average. In the shadow of the original it is badly diminished.

    I'd give it 3 knives... maybe 2 and three quarters.

    P.S. ALL the MUMMY movies were almost as bad as Van helsing and I seem to recall Foy rightly hating that one. I can't understand how you could champion 3.


    Submitted by Vanvance1 on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:03pm.
    Foywonder's picture

    You absolutely cannot take it as a stand alone flick because it directly continues from the original and completely fucks the first one with how it picks up with the Sarah-Juno relationship. If it had been a completely new set of charcters I wouldn't be as negative but it screws with stuff that I loved about the original.

    I hardly championed The Mummy 3. I just said it was tolerable for a single already forgotten viewing.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:24pm.
    moderator Exactly how I felt about the
    Steve Barton's picture

    Exactly how I felt about the movie, Vanvance. Was it needed? Not at all. Did there have to be a sequel? No way. Was I entertained? Yes. Was it better than most of the shit I sit through? You had better believe it.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:19pm.
    Foywonder's picture

    "Was it better than most of the shit I sit through? You had better believe it."

    Rectal exams are better than most of the shit we through. Hell, you send me shit you won't even sit through.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:29pm.
    moderator What about exams given by
    Steve Barton's picture

    What about exams given by cartoon yetis making football hand gestures? LOL


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 04/15/2010 - 12:30am.
    Terminal's picture

    Why go easy on him? I thought the fun of DC was challenging the reviews?

    I hope they have a heated debate on DFF about this movie. It will give me a reason to listen to DFF for once. I want blood... or hurt feelings.
    ----------
    "We are bad guys. That means we've got more to do other than bullying companies. It's fun to lead a bad man's life."


    Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:05pm.
    Vanvance1's picture

    I can't really argue with that line of reasoning.

    Okay, I hope they rip each other's throats out!

    But then I hope they rise again as zombies to keep the site going.


    Submitted by Vanvance1 on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:20pm.
    Terminal's picture

    That's the spirit. I agree with me.
    ----------
    "We are bad guys. That means we've got more to do other than bullying companies. It's fun to lead a bad man's life."


    Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:23pm.
    moderator Ummm Terminal? We go at it
    Steve Barton's picture

    Ummm Terminal? We go at it all the time on DFF. That's part of what makes the show what it is. No punches are ever pulled.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:20pm.
    Terminal's picture

    I have to listen to DFF more, because of all the episodes I've heard it's nothing but chuckling and joking around. I want fisticuffs and challenging of opinions.
    ----------
    "We are bad guys. That means we've got more to do other than bullying companies. It's fun to lead a bad man's life."


    Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:24pm.
    moderator Oh we'll go at it on the
    Steve Barton's picture

    Oh we'll go at it on the Foycast for sure. I dug this flick, It wasn't great but it did its thing. Lord knows I was expecting the worst.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 10:09pm.
    Foywonder's picture

    Remember the time I said The Mummy 3 was acceptable crap and everyone - you especially - gave me oodles of shit for it? At least that wasn't a stupid inferior sequel to one of the best horror movies of the decade. Foycast? No. You will not soil my show with this crap. DFF - and I'm already sharpening my blades.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 10:15pm.
    moderator With your admission that you
    Steve Barton's picture

    With your admission that you liked The Mummy 3 (EVEN A LITTLE), a movie so rife with stupidity that it pulled off the Herculean feat of being dumber than the previous two entries in that already limping-along franchise, you've officially exonerated me and nullified whatever argument you have. Bless you, Foy. Bless you. :-)


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:17pm.
    Foywonder's picture

    So says the guy who actually believes Congo is a genuinely good movie.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:34pm.
    aliensharkboy's picture

    ... Congo ROCKS! It's great fun! Anyone who didn't like it is simply no fun. :(


    Submitted by aliensharkboy on Fri, 01/27/2012 - 6:05am.
    Foywonder's picture

    Then there's an awful lot of no fun people in this world - including Bruce Campbell.


    Submitted by Foywonder on Fri, 01/27/2012 - 3:34pm.
    aliensharkboy's picture

    :O NOOOO!!!! BRUCEEEEEE!!!!! I let Bruce slip but yes, then there is an awful lot of no fun people in this world! CONGO FOREVER!


    Submitted by aliensharkboy on Fri, 01/27/2012 - 7:07pm.
    Vanvance1's picture

    No one believes Congo was a good movie. Jesus wouldn't even forgive the director for that one.


    Submitted by Vanvance1 on Thu, 04/15/2010 - 4:31am.
    moderator Congo is NOT good! Congo is
    Steve Barton's picture

    Congo is NOT good! Congo is AWESOMELY bad and hilarious!


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 04/15/2010 - 12:27am.
    Terminal's picture

    Fuck yes! Now this is an argument!

    Creepy I notice you edited your response with a lengthier diatribe.
    ----------
    "We are bad guys. That means we've got more to do other than bullying companies. It's fun to lead a bad man's life."


    Submitted by Terminal on Wed, 04/14/2010 - 11:43pm.

    Comment viewing options

    Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.