Deadpool (Video Game)



Deadpool (Video Game)Developed by High Moon Studios

Published by Activision

Rated M for Mature

Available for the Xbox 360 (reviewed), PS3 and PC


Deadpool is the latest title from High Moon Studios and is very different from your average video game. Deadpool starts out in his shitty ass apartment, where we find him lying straddled in a chair playing with his junk and cracking jokes. Players then get the chance to "play with his junk" (aka mess with the crap around his home) or leave the apartment. You can watch TV to learn about Deadpool's life, make 1,000 pancakes, play with his blowup doll, pet his dog Red Rocket, surf the internet on his dial-up, or simply drink a few brewskies. Basically, there are four easy achievements for just messing around his crib, and who doesn't like achievements?

Once you are ready, you can answer his door to leave the apartment. There we find a sexy little vixen holding a package for us, and what lies inside is the script to the game. Deadpool pretends to skim over the pages, and next thing we know we're threw into the sewer to learn a little more about the gameplay. After you learn a few controls, then you can test your skills out on a couple of enemies and see just how awesome you are. What is your reward for completing the short tutorial? You get to blow up a kid's bouncy house and jump in it. Ha, it hasn't been 10 minutes, and I was already fuckin' loving this game.

Deadpool is extremely over the top so you will either love or hate him. It is evident after a few minutes of playing the game that High Moon and writer Daniel Way have nailed down Deadpool perfectly with Nolan North's voiceover work only adding to this great character. High Moon is known for its sophisticated third-person games, and Deadpool adds to that list. Deadpool can take on baddies with either his katana swords or dual pistols, and the mechanics are a clever mix of hack 'n slash fun with the intense action of a third-person shooter.

Deadpool is a hired mercenary and has accepted a mission to eliminate the rich news reporter Chance White, who is corrupted. The television channel produces such high-quality programming as the TV show "Jump the Shark," where contestants must literally jump over tanks filled with bloodthirsty sharks. The other part of the Deadpool plot is that Mister Sinister is trying to form an army by utilizing the DNA from the mutant haven, Genosha. And of course, Deadpool can't let that happen! He isn't going to share the spotlight with anyone whether mutant or mogul alike in his game.

Deadpool has a great amount of depth and replayability in regards to its gameplay and storyline. The intricate storyline is fun and entertaining, which carries the game along and adds a ton of variety to an already polished storyline. The tight controls keep combat seamless and satisfying. The fast-paced action keeps you on your feet as you seamlessly switch between gunplay and swordplay, which can be combined with light and heavy attacks. However, there are times when the aiming mechanic isn't as efficient as it should be.

Players can also dodge enemy attacks by pressing the B button to use Deadpool's teleportation ability. Each successful combo and attack racks up DP points and fills your momentum meter, which can then be used to activate a spin attack to take out a horde of enemies. The game offers up a wide variety of upgrades and skill trees to keep things fresh.

When it comes to graphics, Deadpool is colorful, vibrant, and beautiful, almost like something straight out of a comic. This is even further enhanced as you encounter other X-Men superheroes throughout the game. Some of the Marvel characters you come across are Domino, Wolverine, Rogue, Psylocke, Mister Sinister, Cable, Red Hulk, Riptide, and Blockbuster to name a few. Deadpool is composed of everything that this type of game needs with its action-packed third-person combat, fun story, and immersive gameplay.

All in all, Deadpool is a charming title that is not only entertaining but hilarious and well worth the purchase. There was little to dislike in the game, and not a moment went by that I wasn't laughing my ass off.

Deadpool is now available for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and PC. To learn more, visit the official Deadpool website.

Game Features

  • Single Player
  • Campaign or Challenge Modes
  • DLC Support
  • Trophy/Achievement Support

    4 1/2 out of 5

    Discuss Deadpool in the comments section below!




  • -->



    frank_dracman's picture

    For the record I'm in the middle of forcing myself to finish the game. It has nothing to do with the potty humor (I did laugh a couple of times) it's the fact that it's fundamentally a bad game. We can argue all day about what's funny, but you can't argue quality gameplay. If you play games, you'll know this one is a sloppy, rushed project. If you can look past all that for a chuckle, fine. But if you're a serious game reviewer trying to enlighten the masses, you MUST put personal opinions aside and objectively look at the product as a whole. Gamers are a passionate lot, and when we see someone drop a ball you're damn right we'll call it out.


    Submitted by frank_dracman on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 8:59am.
    moderator I get ya there. But I also
    Steve Barton's picture

    I get ya there. But I also think in the players quest to become "serious gamers" they get forget that gaming doesn't always have to be so damned serious. I play games for fun. If it entertains me, I like it, popular opinion be damned. Not everything has to be a fucking technical achievement to be fun. Deadpool had me grinning from ear-to-ear. It still does.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 2:16pm.

    Once again, I wish I could be as easily entertained as Steve can be. I had to stop playing this game after about 20 minutes. Had this been released before Arkham Asylum, I'd be able to overlook it's poor design choices. Since that's not the case, the end product is inexcusable. I love the Deadpool character, but dick jokes don't take priority over good gameplay.

    I don't blame High Moon as much as I do Activision; they are well known for rushing their products ahead of schedule. It's a shame because I loved the last Transformers game that High Moon released.


    Submitted by LSD Zombie on Fri, 06/28/2013 - 8:18pm.
    frank_dracman's picture

    I LOVED the Aliens game. It was garbage, but fun garbage. Would I spend $60 on it? Hell no. Was Deadpool worth a rental? To some (me included), yes. Worthy of a near perfect score or $50? Only to the most hardcore Deadpool fans. I stand by what I said, and I don't pay attention to the Facebook comments. Seems they are the ones frothing at the mouth for vengeance. Been with the site forever and yes, this is stupid. Lock it down if you want and I'll remember to only post positive things from now on.


    Submitted by frank_dracman on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 4:18pm.
    moderator Dude, you can post whatever
    Steve Barton's picture

    Dude, you can post whatever you want. Everyone has opinions and that's groovy. There's absolutely no reason for the shitstorm this has become and the whole thing is silly.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 5:07pm.
    Steve Barton's picture

    Having just spent a couple of hours with the game, I pretty much agree with Amanda on this one. Is this game a masterpiece? Lord... Not even even close. It's your standard beat 'em up, but what makes it stand out is that it's probably one of the funniest and most entertaining games I've every played. It's crude, lowbrow, and has its mind planted firmly in the gutter. How could I not love a game whose main character interrupts his phone call to put the receiver over his groin and spout the line "yeah, talk to my dick."

    For me, the ludicrous and very meta aspects of the game is what makes it rise above the usual crop of hack n slash titles. As long as it keeps me laughing I'm willing to forgive its shortcomings. It has personality to spare and I'll happily play it until my eyes bleed.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 2:57am.
    GODFLESH69's picture

    Sorry you seem to be very generous on your game reviews I respect everyones personal opinion but your reviews just cant be trusted will give it a shot but from what i see on Metacritic this should not be rated so high just my take.


    Submitted by GODFLESH69 on Tue, 06/25/2013 - 12:30pm.
    GODFLESH69's picture

    actually not even going to waste my time on this one saw IGN's video review looks very mediocre.


    Submitted by GODFLESH69 on Wed, 06/26/2013 - 1:35pm.

    Par for the course. I trust this site for movie reviews, but the past few months it's been pumping out game reviews that read like paid advertisements and have no relation to any kind of product quality. Aliens: Colonial Marines scored higher than Metal Gear Rising, enough said.


    Submitted by Scar Trek on Wed, 06/26/2013 - 3:50am.
    moderator For the record... Warts and
    Steve Barton's picture

    For the record... Warts and all... I had way more fun with Aliens than I did with Metal Gear Rising.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 3:03am.

    I almost posted a similar comment regarding the review for Remember Me. The first four paragraphs were just a summary of the opening chapter of the game, with only a few vague references to the actual gameplay dynamics.


    Submitted by addeisdead on Wed, 06/26/2013 - 7:02pm.
    frank_dracman's picture

    I've been thinking the same thing. These "reviews" are terrible. At least Mr. Dark had some personality. These are very formulaic and uninteresting. I'm sure she is talented in other areas, but the game reviews are hard to read compared to the quality of other articles on this site.


    Submitted by frank_dracman on Wed, 06/26/2013 - 8:07pm.
    Kenny King's picture

    Judging by the previous comments, you guys think they review is terrible because 1)Metacritic said she is wrong, 2)IGN said she is wrong, 3)Metal Gear Rising was better than Aliens, 4)she didn't spoil the whole storyline of Remember Me and 5)the other articles on the site are higher quality.

    How is it that a review can be automatically wrong for stating one person's opinion when that is, in fact, the basis of nearly every review ever written? I've also never understood the argument for one game getting a better or worse score than another when the two games are from two very different genres. It also seems fairly ignorant to compare two games on score alone, since you could do the same with any other website on the Internet and find some comparable results. As for the short summary of the beginning of the game, I'm pretty sure it would make more fans angry if a reviewer suddenly started throwing out key moments of a game just to highlight the most exciting parts of the game rather than simply stating how the opening segments of a game play to help the reader determine if the way the story progresses sounds like a title in which they would be interested.

    Probably the worst thing about these comments however are the people continuously commenting to hate on the reviewer despite the fact that it takes anywhere from 4 hours to 20 hours to thoroughly play through a game in today's industry to completely cover the various game modes, mechanics, storyline elements, controls, graphics and other key elements that goes into crafting a review in today's gaming industry. The writer is my best friend in the world, but anyone can click through this site to see that she is creating more original content than the other staff combined, yet doesn't seem to get the respect she deserves. When you consider the original reviews, interviews, news and other content she is bringing to Dread Central all while creating content and websites of her own and raising a family, I think she does better than anyone at providing good quality reviews for readers across many different platforms. If your opinion disagrees with someone else, that is fine, but you don't need to personally attack someone's intelligence, credibility in the journalism industry or any other talent to articulate your point. The facts should be enough to back up your claim if what you are stating is actually true.


    Submitted by Kenny King on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 2:13pm.

    Kenny, my criticism was that a large portion of the Remember Me review was simply plot summary, not that it needed to "spoil" the plot. Quite the opposite of what you inferred.

    I don't have a problem with Amanda's opinions, even if I don't like games that she does. However, after I read the Remember Me review, I was left feeling like I needed to know more about what type of game it is. The review mentions combos and mind-overloading and accessing memories, but never if the game is first-person, strategy based, adventure, etc. I had to look elsewhere to find out that it was more of a Batman-style "beat 'em up."

    I don't see a lot of people insulting or making personal attacks, and I certainly didn't mean offense to anyone. However, I don't think people should get so riled up and defensive when readers of this site express what I feel is a reasonable criticism. I personally would rather not have to go skim through a bloated 5-page review at IGN if we can get concise, detailed reviews here at DC.


    Submitted by addeisdead on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 7:49pm.
    moderator Kenny, I appreciate your
    Steve Barton's picture

    Kenny, I appreciate your comments and agree with most of them. Amanda is a great and valued part of the site, and how this thread turned into more of a diatribe on her instead of the game is silly.

    That being said... there are a LOT of contributors on Dread Central and to say that any one person does more or brings more original content to the site than others is absolutely ridiculous and completely untrue.

    That being said, If this thread continues to be a circus on both sides of the fence, I'll lock this thread as it's doing NO ONE any favors.


    Submitted by Steve Barton on Thu, 06/27/2013 - 3:11pm.

    Comment viewing options

    Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.