Mondo Releasing Poltergeist Score Soundtrack on Limited Edition Vinyl

Those lovable loons at Mondo are at it again, trying to lighten your load of carrying around a wallet with cash in it! Check out their latest offering: the Poltergeist score soundtrack on limited edition vinyl, which is being released on February 22nd.

From the Press Release:
Mondo, the collectible art division of Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, is excited to announce the release of Jerry Goldsmith’s Poltergeist score on limited edition vinyl. Combining a love for film music and beautiful artistic renderings, Mondo commissioned original cover art from We Buy Your Kids, the duo of Australian illustrators Sonny Day and Biddy Maroney. The Poltergeist two-disc vinyl will be available for purchase for $25 on February 22nd via MondoTees.com and will include a small portion of randomly inserted clear vinyl copies. The full track list appears below and includes five tracks never before released on vinyl (#1, #3, #4, #6, and #9).

The Poltergeist vinyl soundtrack release continues Mondo’s commitment to crafting beautiful packaging for scores they love and adds to an eclectic collection that now includes The Beyond, Deadly Spawn, Maniac, and the upcoming vinyl release for Drive. Much more is on the horizon for 2013.

Jerry Goldsmith's soundtrack for Steven Spielberg's Poltergeist formed a significant part of the 1982 film's conceptual strength. Known for the intensity of his thematic exposition, Goldsmith designs the Poltergeist soundtrack to elaborately ground the film between the promise of suburban repose and the malevolent unknown. Beginning in innocence with a classic rendition of "The Star-Spangled Banner," the soundtrack parallels the film's intrusion of angry ghosts into the California home of the film's protagonists with dreadful strings and eerie keys. Goldsmith then switches to airier strings and an ethereal flute to denote the family's fumbling after their daughter, Carol Anne, is abducted. Utilizing frenzied horn blasts and a sudden lapse into atonalism, the composer ominously signifies the emergence of the Beast. Goldsmith, seemingly effortless, concludes the frantic drama of "Escape From Suburbia" in stark contrast with the sweet and child-like tones of "Carol Anne's Theme," elegantly illustrating the dignity and range that his orchestral scores for horror modeled within the genre.

Mondo previously collaborated with We Buy Your Kids for a gallery show, “Tina’s Mom’s Boyfriend,” in November. We Buy Your Kids began working together in 2006, creating screen-printed posters for local concerts. Since then, their client list has expanded to include film, print, huge corporations, and galleries. Often making art that the squares think is weird, they are the perfect collaborator for the Poltergeist soundtrack artwork.

For the exact sale time on February 22nd, follow @MondoNews on Twitter.

Track Listing:
1) "The Star Spangled Banner"
2) "The Calling / The Neighborhood" (Main Title)
3) "The Tree" (Outtake)
4) "The Clown / They're Here / Broken Glass / The Hole / TV People"
5) "Twisted Abduction"
6) "Contacting the Other Side"
7) "The Light"
8) "Night Visitor / No Complaints"
9) "It Knows What Scares You"
10) "Rebirth"
11) "Night of the Beast"
12) "Escape from Suburbia"
13) "Carol Anne's Theme" (End Title)

Mondo Releasing Poltergeist Score Soundtrack on Limited Edition Vinyl

Mondo Releasing Poltergeist Score Soundtrack on Limited Edition Vinyl

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Hear the beast emerge in the comments section below!