HWA to Present Carpenter, Weinberg with Lifetime Achievement Awards

Bob Weinberg (Click for larger image)Last night, the Horror Writers Association announced they would be giving not one, but two lifetime achievement awards this year. The first award will go to renowned horror author and editor Robert Weinberg. The author of sixteen novels in various genres, sixteen nonfiction books (which include such titles as The Science of Supervillians and Horror of the 20th Century), Weinberg has been a professional writer since he sold his first short story in 1967. The award for lifetime achievement is very well deserved.

John Carpenter (Click for larger image)
So who is the second recipient, you ask? Cue the guy in the white William Shatner mask, the second recipient for all his dedication and contributions to the art of horror is none other than John Carpenter. From his first movie back in 1962, Carpenter has provided fans with some of the most memorable flicks in history. Titles such as The Fog (the original, not the abortive remake), The Thing, and In the Mouth of Madness cemented his place in the horror pantheon, placing him in the correct circle to be one of the original “Masters of Horror.”

The awards will be presented at the annual Stoker Awards Banquet and HWA Conference, this year to be held in conjunction with the 2008 World Horror Convention, which will be held in Salt Lake City, Utah, March 27-30. The award, one of the most prestigious awards in the horror industry, has been presented in the past by the likes of Stephen King, Peter Straub, and Ray Bradbury. Weinberg and Carpenter will be joining an elite pantheon of horror gods.

Scott A. Johnson

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Discuss your awards in the Dread Central forums!

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Scott A. Johnson

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .
  • Sirand

    Carpenter will probably just stay home and play video games.