Fantasia 2012 Roundup: Distribution Deals, Final Jury Awards, Audience Awards, and 2013 Dates

Source Name:

Fantasia International Film Festival

Source Url:

Post Thumb:


The Fantasia International Film Festival is over for now, but don’t be too sad; the 2013 dates have already been announced! Fantasia will be back from the 18th of July to the 6th of August 2013. In the meantime read on for the last news from the 2012 edition.

Fantasia 2012 Jury Prize Winners Announced

From the Press Release:
The festive atmosphere of Fantasia’s 16th edition will live on for several directors whose acquisition deals were announced during the festival: Boris Rodriguez, the Montreal director of EDDIE: THE SLEEPWALKING CANNIBAL, is celebrating his new contract for a theatrical release in the United States with Music Box Films. As well, Kern Saxton’s SUSHI GIRL was recently picked up by Phase 4 and Magnolia, while Quentin Dupieux’s WRONG will be distributed by Drafthouse Films.

The last juries have finished deliberating on this year’s competitions and are pleased to announce the following winners:

AQCC Jury – Asian Section
President: Daniel Racine, with Élodie François and Serge Abiaad
AQCC Prize: 11/25 THE DAY MISHIMA CHOSE HIS OWN FATE by Koji Wakamatsu
For its re-evaluation of biopic conventions, choosing to rely on a sober staging and a stripped-down screenplay. A film carried by the grace and assurance of its main actor Arata Iura, who contributes to the intensity and exaltation of this unique portrait of quiet strength.

Special Mentions:
HENGE by Hajime Ohata – For restoring kaijū eiga to its former glory, and doing so in such modest circumstances.
MONDOMANILA by Khavn De La Cruz – For the accuracy with which the director looks at his country’s most disadvantaged, uncompromising but full of humanity.

Séquences Jury – International Section
President: Donato Totaro, with Pascal Grenier and Ismaël Houdassine
Séquences Prize: HAIL by Amiel Courtin-Wilson
For its original blend of intimate poetry and its bold formal experimentation. For its austere approach and visceral performances by non-professional actors. And for its touching portrayal of a former prisoner struggling with his demons.

L’Écran Fantastique Jury
Yves Rivard
L’Écran Fantastique Prize: BLOOD-C: THE LAST DARK by Naoyoshi Shiotani
The amazing editing and horrifying Lovecraftian bestiary, as well as attention to textures and lighting make this production a great animation film which caters as much to fans of fantasy horror as Japanese animation.

Audience Awards:

Best Asian Feature: ACE ATTORNEY by Takashi Miike (Gold), VULGARIA by Pang Ho-Cheung (Silver), DRAGON (WU XIA) by Peter Chan (Bronze), ROBO-G by Shinobu Yaguchi (Bronze) (TIE)
Best European / North-South American Feature: GAME OF WEREWOLVES by Juan Martinez Moreno (Gold), JUAN OF THE DEAD by Alejandro Brugués (Silver), TURN ME ON, GODDAMMIT! by Jannicke Systad Jacobsen (Bronze)
Best Short Film: ATTACK OF THE BRAINSUCKER by Sid Zanforlin (Gold), MATHILDA by Matthew Zuang (Silver), THE CAPTURED BIRD by Jovanka Vuckovic (Bronze), PETITE MORT by Louise Archambault (Bronze), STAY AT HOME DAD by Andrew Kasch and John Skipp (Bronze) (TIE)
Best Canadian or Quebecois Feature: COLD BLOODED by Jason Lapeyre
Best Animated Feature: ASURA by Keiichi Sato, A LETTER TO MOMO by Hiroyuki Okiura (TIE)
Best Documentary: WE ARE LEGION: THE STORY OF THE HACKTIVISTS by Brian Knappenberger
Most Innovative Feature: WRONG by Quentin Dupieux
Guru Prize for the Most Energetic Feature: SINGHAM by Rohit Shetty

A hearty congrats to Dread Central’s own Andrew Kasch on his win for Stay at Home Dad along with all the other winners!

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Toast the winners in the comments section below!

Image Type 1:

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Debi Moore

I'll see you on the other side...

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .