Fourth Hunger Games Film “Not Set in Stone”

Source Name:


Source Url:

Post Thumb:


Although it was widely reported last June that Lionsgate intended to split Mockingjay, the third book in Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games trilogy, into two films, Nina Jacobson, the producer who has been credited with discovering the series, says that decision is “not set in stone” and they are “still figuring it all out.”

While those early reports of turning the series of three books into four eventual movies involved splitting Mockingjay in two, similar to what was done with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Jacobson told MTV during The Hunger Games‘ premiere this past Monday that the decision will depend on the reception of the first film, set for release next week. “Hopefully, people love this movie enough to demand the next one,” she said. “Go make that one. Figure out what to do from there.

Production for the second film, Catching Fire, is already set to begin in a few months. Whether the team will return to the Carolinas, where they shot the first film, remains unclear. “We’re figuring all that out, but [we’ll probably also go] somewhere hot and sweaty. It shouldn’t be a cakewalk,” Jacobson said, referring to the film’s location reflecting the books’ atmosphere. But Jacobson did confirm something about the movie’s script. “Simon Beaufoy has turned in his first draft. He’s going to work on his next draft. He’s a busy guy.

For the rest of what Jacobson had to say, including how supportive author Collins has been of the film, check out the video below.

The Hunger Games, directed by Gary Ross, stars Donald Sutherland, Woody Harrelson, Wes Bentley, Elizabeth Banks, Stanley Tucci, Liam Hemsworth, Paula Malcolmson, Willow Shields, Latarsha Rose, Lenny Kravitz, Brooke Bundy, Leven Rambin & Jack Quaid (#1), Alexander Ludwig & Isabelle Fuhrman (#2), Ian Nelson & Kalia Prescott (#3), Ethan Jamieson & Tara Macken (#4), Chris Mark & Jackie Emerson (#5), Ashton Moio & Kara Petersen (#6), Sam Ly & Leigha Hancock (#7), Samuel Tan & Mackenzie Lintz (#8), Imanol Yepez-Frias & Annie Thurman (#9), Jeremy Marinas & Dakota Hood (#10), Amandla Stenberg & Dayo Okeniyi (#11), and Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss) & Josh Hutcherson (Peeta) (#12).

Every year in the ruins of what was once North America, the evil Capitol of the nation of Panem forces each of its twelve districts to send a teenage boy and girl to compete in the Hunger Games. A twisted punishment for a past uprising and an ongoing government intimidation tactic, The Hunger Games are a nationally televised event in which “Tributes” must fight with one another until one survivor remains.

Pitted against highly-trained Tributes who have prepared for these Games their entire lives, Katniss (Lawrence) is forced to rely upon her sharp instincts as well as the mentorship of drunken former victor Haymitch Abernathy. If she’s ever to return home to District 12, Katniss must make impossible choices in the arena that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Lionsgate will release The Hunger Games on March 23, 2012.

Be sure to keep your eyes on the official The Hunger Games Facebook page and the official The Hunger Games Twitter feed for updates leading up to the film’s release.

The Hunger Games

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Fight to the death in the comments section below!

Image Type 1:

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Debi Moore

I'll see you on the other side...

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .