The ABCs of Death – All Twenty-Five Directors Named

Source Name:

The ABCs of Death

Source Url:


Post Thumb:


Drafthouse Films, Magnet Pictures and Timpson Films have announced the full roster of directors signed on to participate in their international co-production The ABCs Of Death, an anthology horror film featuring segments directed by over two dozen leading talents in contemporary genre film from around the world.

The feature is comprised of 26 individual episodes, each helmed by a different director assigned a letter of the alphabet inspiring a single word about death. Currently in pre-production, the film’s producers reserved the 26th director slot for a worldwide contest to find tomorrow’s next great horror filmmaker.

The contest ends October 1st. More submission information here.

In May 2011, the film’s producers announced that enlisted directors were to include Jason Eisener (HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN), Ti West (HOUSE OF THE DEVIL and the upcoming THE INNKEEPERS), Ben Wheatley(SXSW 2011 favorite KILL LIST), Srdjan Spasojevic of A SERBIAN FILM infamy, and 18 others. Joining the roster are recent signees Jon Schnepp (co-director of Adult Swim’s epic animated series Metalocalypse) and Jorge Michel Grau, whose jarring 2010 cannibal drama SOMOS LO QUE HAY (WE ARE WHAT WE ARE) garnered a great deal of notice and established him as one of the more fearless rising filmmakers of the era.

“Having Jon Schnepp onboard is really going to bring some anarchic diversity to the project,” says co-producer Ant Timpson. “His work on Metapocalypse, The Venture Bros and Aqua Teen Hunger Force shows that he is the real deal; a supremely multi-talented guy with a unique perspective and set of skills to match.”

“Jorge Michel Grau won top honors, the ‘Next Wave’ award, at last year’s Fantastic Fest for his feature WE ARE WHAT WE ARE. We are delighted that this visionary filmmaker is joining our already strong roster,” says co-producer Tim League.

As the search continues for the 26th director you can view entries that have been submitted, including demented gems such as “T is for Toilet” and “T is for Talk”.

The following is the list of participating directors, along with their countries of origin and a reference title from each of their filmographies:

  • Kaare Andrews (Altitude), USA
  • Angela Bettis (Roman), USA
  • Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (Mirageman; Mandrill), Chile
  • Jason Eisener (Hobo With A Shotgun), Canada
  • Bruno Forzani & Héléne Cattet (Amer), Belgium
  • Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Cold Sweat), Mexico
  • Xavier Gens (Frontiers; Hitman), France
  • Jorge Michel Grau (We Are What We Are), Mexico
  • Noburo Iguchi (RoboGeisha), Japan
  • Thomas Malling (Norwegian Ninja), Norway
  • Anders Morgenthaler (Princess), Denmark
  • Yoshihrio Nishimura (Tokyo Gore Police), Japan
  • Banjong Pisathanakun (Shutter), Thailand
  • Simon Rumley (Red, White & Blue), UK
  • Marcel Sarmiento (Deadgirl), USA
  • Jon Schnepp (Metalocalypse; The Venture Bros.), USA
  • Srdjan Spasojevic (A Serbian Film), Serbia
  • Timo Tjahjanto (Macabre), Indonesia
  • Andrew Traucki (The Reef), Australia
  • Nacho Vigalondo (TimeCrimes), Spain
  • Jake West (Doghouse), UK
  • Ti West (House of the Devil; The Innkeepers), USA
  • Ben Wheatley (Down Terrace; Kill List), UK
  • Adam Wingard (A Horrible Way to Die), USA
  • Yudai Yamaguchi (Yakuza Weapon), Japan

    The ABCs of Death - All Twenty-Five Directors Named

    Got news? Click here to submit it!
    Make it easy as 1-2-3 in the comments section below!
    Image Type 1:

  • Box of Dread Black Friday
    *Some International Shipping now available!

    Steve Barton

    You're such an inspiration for the ways that I will never, ever choose to be.

    • Vanvance1

      I’m curious about this one. Having so many directors doesn’t give a lot of time for each to much. It should be interesting to see what works.