3 Horror Novels to Add to Your Winter Reading List: A Gathering of Evil, The Beauty, and Frankenstein in Baghdad - Dread Central
Connect with us

News

3 Horror Novels to Add to Your Winter Reading List: A Gathering of Evil, The Beauty, and Frankenstein in Baghdad

Published

on

A trio of new horror novels are arriving this month, and while they couldn’t be more different, each one sounds like a must-read for fans of the genre. If you’re looking for some new books to add to your winter reading list, then here’s the skinny on A Gathering of Evil by Gil Valle, The Beauty by Aliya Whiteley, and Frankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmed Saadawi.

If any sound up your alley, just click the titles for ordering info.

A GATHERING OF EVIL by Gil Valle (Comet Press; January 4, 2018)
The name Gil Valle may sound familiar – he’s a former NYPD patrol cop who rose to infamy in 2012 after being wrongfully arrested by the feds for allegedly plotting to kidnap, cook, and eat women. He became known to the world as the “Cannibal Cop” and faced life in prison. Valle has since been completely exonerated of all wrongdoing.

In February of 2017 he released the critically acclaimed Raw Deal—a memoir about his ordeal and the criminal case. Now, he fleshes out his fantasies in his debut novel, A Gathering of Evil, serving up a feast of gut-churning horror. [WARNING: This book contains graphic and violent material. It is intended for mature audiences only.]

A Gathering of Evil is a graphic and disturbing story that will make even the most hardened fan of extreme horror squirm, including the Comet Press editors, who specialize in publishing extreme horror and hardcore dark crime: “Hats off to Gil for writing one of the most terrifying books we’ve ever read. It takes a helluva lot to get under our skin, and he succeeded.”

Synopsis:
A Gathering of Evil is the story of two New York women leading seemingly normal lives, completely unaware that they have been targeted by a group of wealthy and violent sadists. This group, who met through the Dark Web, share some rather unusual sexual appetites, along a with desire to turn those twisted fantasies into reality. Marilyn and Bruce, the wealthy couple from upstate New York who have organized the event, have gathered this group of people from all different backgrounds and brought them together through a common bond: the lust and desire to kidnap a young woman and brutally end her life.

The hunt is on. Will the prey survive this gathering of evil?

THE BEAUTY by Aliya Whiteley (Titan Books; January 16, 2018)
This one is a really special title, perfect for fans of Jeff VanderMeer and China Miéville. Looking at the nature of human society and gender in a wholly original way, The Beauty is unlike anything you will have read before.

Nominated for the Shirley Jackson and Saboteur Awards, this game-changer was chosen by Adam Nevill as one of his favorite horror short stories: “What a refreshing gust of tiny spores this novella explodes into, and I inhaled them all with glee.”

Synopsis:
Somewhere away from the cities and towns, in the Valley of the Rocks, a society of men and boys gather around the fire each night to listen to their history recounted by Nate, the storyteller. Requested most often by the group is the tale of the death of all women.

They are the last generation.

One evening Nate brings back new secrets from the woods; peculiar mushrooms are growing from the ground where the women’s bodies lie buried. These are the first signs of a strange and insidious presence unlike anything ever known before…

Discover the Beauty.

FRANKENSTEIN IN BAGHDAD by Ahmed Saadawi (Penguin Books;January 23, 2018).
Winner of both the International Prize for Arabic Fiction and France’s Grand Prize for Fantasy, Ahmed Saadawi’s Frankenstein in Baghdad is being made available in English for the first time this month. Saadawi is one of the few Iraqi novelists who has remained in Iraq and lived through some of the worst violence, giving his writing an immediacy that little other fiction about the Iraq War has.

Frankenstein in Baghdad is an extraordinary achievement. At once horrific and blackly humorous, it addresses the sources of violence in Iraq, the nature of Iraqi identity, and the effects of dictatorship, occupation, and violence on ordinary people. Translated into English by Jonathan Wright (who also translated Iraqi writer Hassan Blassim’s award-winning story collection The Corpse Exhibition), the novel provides insight into an Iraq still reeling from the U.S.-led invasion through a brilliantly conceived horror plot inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

Synopsis:
In the rubble-strewn streets of U.S.-occupied Baghdad, Hadi–a scavenger and an oddball fixture at the local café–collects human body parts and stitches them together to create a corpse. His goal, he claims, is for the government to recognize the parts as people and to give them proper burial. But when the corpse goes missing and a wave of eerie murders sweeps the city, reports stream in of a horrendous-looking criminal who, though shot, cannot be killed. Hadi soon realizes he’s created a monster, one that needs human flesh to survive.

As the violence builds and Hadi’s acquaintances–a journalist, a government worker, a lonely older woman–become involved, the havoc Hadi’s monster wreaks assumes a magnitude far greater than anyone could have imagined.

Comments

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Comments

News

POLL: Who Should Direct Wan and King’s TOMMYKNOCKERS?

Published

on

It was just last month that we learned James Wan (Saw, Insidious, The Conjuring) is going to be producing a new big screen adaptation of Stephen King’s The Tommyknockers.

While I’m sad that it seems Wan will not be directing the film, I think it’s a great time to bring up the question: Well, then who the hell SHOULD?

You can find my top 3 choices below and then make sure to let us know who you think should direct James Wan’s upcoming adaptation of Stephen King’s The Tommyknockers in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, and/or Instagram!

ABC mini-series’ executive producer Larry Sanitsky: “It is an allegorical tale of addiction (Stephen was struggling with his own at the time), the threat of nuclear power, the danger of mass hysteria and the absurdity of technical evolution run amuck. All are as relevant today as the day the novel was written. It is also a tale about the eternal power of love and the grace of redemption.”

Stephen King’s The Tommyknockers will be produced by James Wan (The Conjuring), Roy Lee (Stephen King’s IT) and the ABC mini-series’ executive producer Larry Sanitsky.

Synopsis:

A town in Maine that falls under the influence of a dangerous gas from an unearthed spacecraft. The gas begins to transform the people, giving them enhanced abilities, but also making them violent and subject to an alien hive mentality. One man, thanks to a steel plate in his head, is immune to the effects and tries to stop the townspeople.

Comments

Continue Reading

News

Guess Who Just Snagged Wan and King’s New TOMMYKNOCKERS

Published

on

Earlier this month we passed along the exciting news that that none other than James Wan plans to bring Stephen King’s novel The Tommyknockers back to the screen.

Wan will be producing (but not at this time, directing) the film along with Roy Lee (IT) and the original ABC mini-series’ executive producer Larry Sanitsky.

And today Deadline reports Universal won the bidding war over the new adaptation, barely beating out fellow heavyweights Sony and Netflix. And thus Universal, home of the classic movie monsters, will be bringing us Wan and King’s first (and hopefully not last) collaboration.

Are you excited by this news? Do you think Universal is the right fit for this new film? Make sure to hit us up and let us know what you think in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, and/or Instagram!

Synopsis:

A town in Maine that falls under the influence of a dangerous gas from an unearthed spacecraft. The gas begins to transform the people, giving them enhanced abilities, but also making them violent and subject to an alien hive mentality. One man, thanks to a steel plate in his head, is immune to the effects and tries to stop the townspeople.

Comments

Continue Reading

News

PUPPET MASTER Reboot Gets Theatrical Release Date!

Published

on

Puppet Master: Littlest Reich

The upcoming reboot of Full Moon’s classic Puppet Master just premiered at the Overlook Film Festival and is said to “maintain all of the brutally inventive puppet-kills infused with the comedic tendencies that made the original franchise so popular with fans while expanding upon Toulon’s backstory and developing richer dialogue, characters, and narratives.”

I’m looking forward to the film and if you’re like me then you’ll be excited to hear Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich looks like it will be heading it’s tiny way into theaters this summer via RLJE Films! More specifically the film will be hitting in August of this year.

“We are incredibly excited to be able to bring the first film under the new Fangoria brand to audiences this summer,” RLJE Films’ Chief Acquisitions Officer Mark Ward said in a statement. “With an amazing script from S. Craig Zahler and performances from horror legends Barbara Crampton and Udo Kier, we know Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich will thrill fans of the original films and new audiences alike.

Are you excited to check out Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich in theaters this August? Make sure to hit us up and let us know what you think in the comments below or on Facebook, Twitter, and/or Instagram!

The reimagining is directed by Sonny Laguna and Tommy Wiklund from a script written by S. Craig Zahler and stars Thomas Lennon, Jenny Pellicer, Nelson Franklin, Charlyne Yi, Michael Pare, Udo Kier, and Barbara Crampton. The film is produced by Lorenzo di Bonaventura and Mark Vahradian.

RLJE Films plans to release the movie in theaters in August 2018.

Synopsis:

In Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich, recently divorced and reeling, Edgar (Lennon) returns to his childhood home to regroup his life. When Edgar finds a nefarious looking puppet in his deceased brother’s room, he decides to sell the doll for some quick cash at a small-town convention celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the infamous Toulon Murders. Girl-next-door Ashley (Pellicer) and his comic book shop boss, Markowitz (Franklin), join Edgar for the doomed road trip. All hell breaks loose when a strange force animates the puppets at the convention, setting them on a bloody killing spree that’s motivated by an evil as old as time.

Comments

Continue Reading

Go Ad Free!

Support Dread Central on Patreon!
Advertisement
Advertisement

Recent Comments

Advertisement

Join the Box of Dread Mailing List

* indicates required

Trending

Copyright © 2017 Dread Central Media LLC