Chiller Eyegore Awards 2010 Announces its Honorees

The Chiller Eyegore Award ceremony seems like lots of fun. What better time to celebrate our beloved genre than during the festival of Samhain? And, judging from this list of honorees, it seems like 2010 is going to be the year to catch it!

From the Press Release

Filmmaker/actor Eli Roth, Christopher Lloyd, veteran horror icon Sid Haig and Saw stars Betsy Russell and Gina Holden will be the honorees at the 2010 “Eyegore Awards,” which will serve as the opening night event at Universal Studios Halloween Horror Nights®, beginning its 17-night run on Friday, Sept. 24.

Corey Feldman returns as host of the 2010 ceremony and presenters will include Rob and Sheri Zombie, filmmaker Tobe Hooper, “True Blood” vampire Mariana Klaveno and Saw’s Costas Mandylor.

Wearing multiple hats—director, screenwriter, actor and producer—Eli Roth has emerged as one of the top artists in the horror genre. As a director and producer, his Hostel films, Cabin Fever, and most recently, The Last Exorcism have made his name familiar to all genre fans.

Since making an unforgettable film debut in One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, three-time Emmy Award®-winner Christopher Lloyd has grown into a screen legend through his roles in TV’s “Taxi,” as a Klingon in Star Trek III and as professor Doc Brown in the Back to the Future”movies. He portrayed Uncle Fester in The Addams Family movie adaptation and, most recently, appeared in Piranha.”\

Sid Haig has appeared in over 50 films and 350 television shows, working with such iconic directors as Roger Corman and Quentin Tarantino. His horror genre performances in Rob Zombie’s House of 1000 Corpses, The Devil’s Rejects and Halloween have earned awards at the Fangoria-Chainsaw and Spike TV Scream Awards ceremonies.

Betsy Russell has starred as Jill Tuck, aka “Mrs. Jigsaw” in six movies in the Saw series. She recently starred in Syfy’s movie Mandrake.

Gina Holden has carved a niche in the horror genre via starring roles in Lifetime’s “Blood Ties” and CBS-TV’s “Harper’s Island.” She’ll soon be seen in Saw 3D and is also known to big-screen film audiences through her starring roles in the Flash Gordon series.

Previous Eyegore Award recipients have included Alice Cooper, Patricia Arquette, Janet Leigh, Roger Corman, Jennifer Tilly, Joss Whedon, Rob Zombie, Karen Black, Clive Barker, Tobin Bell, Rick Baker, Julie Benz, Shawnee Smith, Sherri Moon Zombie, Tobe Hooper, Bill Moseley and Corey Feldman.

Halloween Horror Nights will begin on September 24 and continue on consecutive weekends and selected weekday nights through Sunday, October 31. Event dates are: September 24, 25 and October 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, 16,17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 30, 31. The event will begin nightly at 7 p.m.; closing hours vary by night throughout the event.

Tickets are now on sale at Halloween Horror Nights, including a new “Killer Deal Nights” option, providing discounts of up to $25 for selected dates.


Got news? Click here to submit it!
Win some horror awards in the comments section below.

Image Type 1:

Get this site 100% Ad Free Support Us on Patreon!

Matt Serafini

Author (Under the Blade, Feral), slasher movie enthusiast, N7 Operative. Plays games, watches movies, reads books. Occasionally writes about them.

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .