Horror Writers Association Presents 2009 Stoker Winners

This past weekend at World Horror Con in Brighton, UK, the Horror Writers Association revealed the winners of the 2009 Stoker Awards. The recipients list, for superior achievement in all aspects of horror writing, reads like a who’s who, or at least a list of names you should know and will be seeing again.

Also presented was the Lifetime Achievement Award to Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan. The Specialty Press Award went to Ray Russel and Rosalie Parker of Tartarus Press. In addition, the Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to the organization, was presented to Kathryn Ptacek while the President’s Richard Laymon Service Award went to Vince A. Liaguno.

The awards, named for Dracula scribe Bram Stoker, were special this year in that it was the first time they’ve been presented outside the North American continent, showing that the HWA truly strives to be a worldwide entity for horror.

Here are the winners:

  • Superior Achievement in a NOVEL – Audrey’s Door by Sarah Langan (Harper)
  • Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL – Damnable by Hank Schwaeble (Jove)
  • Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION – The Lucid Dreaming by Lisa Morton (Bad Moon Books)
  • Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION – “In the Porches of My Ears” by Norman Prentiss (POSTSCRIPTS #18)
  • Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY – He Is Legend edited by Christopher Conlon (Gauntlet Press)
  • Superior Achievement in a COLLECTION – A Taste of Tenderloin by Gene O’Neill (Apex Book Company)
  • Superior Achievement in NONFICTION – Writers Workshop of Horror by Michael Knost (Woodland Press)
  • Superior Achievement in POETRY – Chimeric Machines by Lucy A. Snyder (Creative Guy Publishing)

Dread Central congratulates all the winners and nominees!

Scott A. Johnson

Got news? Click here to submit it!
Publish something in the Dread Central forums!

Image Type 1:

Get Your Box of Dread Now
*US Residents Only .

Scott A. Johnson